Twenty-two compete for Miss Lewisburg

Wednesday, September 27, 2006

The 14th annual Miss Lewisburg Pageant will be held Saturday, September 30, 6:30 p.m. at Lewisburg Middle School. This year's theme is "Yesterday, Tomorrow and Always". The pageant is a fundraiser for the Lewisburg Rotary Club. The proceeds are returned to the community in scholarships to the winner and runners-up of the pageant as well as other scholarships and projects throughout the year. The Miss Lewisburg scholarship is designated for any higher education, academic or vocational.

Millie Miller, President of Lewisburg Rotary announced that Clay Deryberry will again be this years Master of Ceremonies. Clay has served this project for many years with his skills for public speaking as well as singing.

The 2005 Miss Lewisburg, Adrienne Staggs will crown the new Miss Lewisburg as well as have an opportunity to say goodbye to the crowd of well wishers.

The night will begin with the crowning of Little Miss Lewisburg. This year there are 8 bright and beautiful young contestants.

Twenty two young women from Marshall County High School will competing for the title and the scholarship given to Miss Lewisburg. The firls are judged on a written essay, an interview, and poise and presentation of self.

Tickets for the pageant are on sale now. Advance tickets are $7.00 and can be purchased at the Celebration Inn, Citizens Bank, Randstad and Ledford Employee Exchange. Tickets at the door will be $8.00.