MCHS FFA Archery Team does well at state competition

Wednesday, May 2, 2007
Matt Clarey and Don Crawford back row, presented Cole Liggett with a trophy for winning the high school male division, and a trophy and new bow to Blair Everett for not only winning the high school female division, but the "Best Overall Female" award. Looking on are MCHS FFA Archery Team Assistant Coach Robby Giles (left) and Head Coach Brent Johns, right.

On Feb. 23, the Marshall County High School FFA Archery Team headed to the Opryland Hotel exhibition hall in Nashville to take part in the first Tennessee National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP) competition.

The event is sponsored by the TWRA. Approximately 160 students, representing 13 schools from across the state, were in attendance to compete and visit the many attractions set up by different organizations.

By the end of the competition the MCHS FFA Archery Team, led by Head Coach Brent Johns and Assistant Coach Robby Giles, came home with a team award and two members received individual awards.

TWRA's Matt Clarey (back left) and Don Crawford (back right) presented the MCHS FFA Archery Team with medals for placing third in the state in the first Tennessee National Archery in the Schools Program competition.

The local team placed 3rd in the state with 1657 points, behind Northwest High School, 1st place, with 1931 points, and Hendersonville High School, 2nd with 1874.

In the high school male category, MCHS's Cole Liggett placed 1st with 272 points.

The high school female category saw another MCHS FFA member, Blair Everett, taking 1st with 259 points. Everett not only captured the high school division, she was named Overall Female," which also included middle school students.

Zach McNabb of Meigs County Middle School captured the Best Overall Male with 279 points, just edging out Liggett for that honor.

Don Crawford, TWRA Assistant Chief Information & Education, and Matt Clarey, Hunter Education Coordinator, were on hand at MCHS recently to present the team, Liggett and Everett with their trophies and medals, and to give Everett a new bow for her accomplishment.

In addition to Liggett and Everett, members of the MCHS FFA Archery Team include Blake Everett, Connie Nichols, Ben Stacey, Jimmy Carter, Janna Green, Caitlin Tindell (manager), Dustin Luttrell, Dustin Thomason, Ashley Cross, Race Wilson, and Colby Piearce.

For more information on the first Tennessee National Archery in the Schools Program, log on to the TWRA Web site at