Eagle Ensemble presents concert

Wednesday, May 23, 2007
The 1st-3rd graders perform during the spring concert and include: (from left front) Brooke Blalock, Colton Primm, Gabriella Norton, Jordan Gevedon, Morgan Ingram, and Carly Shrum and (from left back) Sydney Beard, Madeline Chumley, Izabella Brand, Hannah Jo Shelton, Jenna Lee, Christal McClure and Cali Burrow.

Under the direction of Anna Beth Grant and Todd Campbell, the Oak Grove Eagle Ensemble performed their spring concert, "Sounds of Spring," on the afternoon and evening of May 8.

Children in grades 1-3 performed three selections including "Hakunah Matata" from the popular children's movie, "The Lion King." The 4-6th graders performed two selections from "The Sound of Music" and ended with "American Tears" that honored the 6th grade students.

This was the first school year that Oak Grove Elementary had a chorus program. Grant and Campbell decided to start the group to showcase musically talented students. They auditioned students at the beginning of the school year and have had three public performances.

Singing a "Sound of Music" song are (back row from left) Connor Mealer and Meribeth Brannon, and (front row from left) Jessie Underwood and Brook Brown.

"The Eagle Ensemble is made up of very talented students who are a pleasure to work with," Grant said. "We are fortunate to have very supportive parents and family members who have contributed to the success of the chorus program."

Grant and Campbell are planning next year's Eagle Ensemble now and will be selecting scores for the student performances.

This year's Eagle Ensemble included: Morgan Ingram, Darius McKenzie, Sydney Beard, Izzabella Brand, Jenna Lee, Carly Shrum, Miranda Fagan, Christal McClure, Vanessa Mitchell, Annie Haynes, Jimmy Owens, Brooke Blalock, Hannah Jo Shelton, Colton Primm, Gabriella Norton, Cali Burrow, Heather Compton, Leah Hollingsworth, Jordan Gevedon Grace Medley, Cortni Beardsley, Jacob Carlton, Jenna Edwards, Summer Fuss, Shelby Hall, Jerri Ann Shelton, Cady Ray, Chance Shrum, Meribeth Brannon, Callie Johnson, Cassidy Primm, Blair Fralix, Morgan Brown, Ben Jordan, Alexius Shelton, Jessie Underwood, Brooklyn Brown, Cheyenne Seay, Connor Mealer, Hollynn Brown, and Olivia Selvey.