Six apply for school board, commission to vote Monday

Friday, October 19, 2007

Six people have applied to succeed a Marshall County School Board member who resigned. Monday night county commissioners are to fill the vacant seat.

Applications may still be received at the county commission meeting scheduled to start at 6 p.m. on Monday in the second floor meeting room of the County Courthouse Annex on Lewisburg’s public square.

The open seat was held by 2nd district board member Deborah Allen who resigned a month ago to deal with family obligations and responsibilities in running a farm. She had another year to serve an area west of Chapel Hill that generally includes the Caney Spring Community and nearby parts of northwest Marshall County.

The school board was also scheduled to meet last night to take steps toward hiring a successor to John David Pierce who was dismissed by the board at a recent meeting. The former schools director was dismissed on a request from the county commission.

Read the complete story in the Tribune.