Marshall County Tigers hold football banquet

Wednesday, January 16, 2008
Photos by Louis G. Scheuchenzuber Marshall County football players named to the All-Region 5-3A First Team were recognized during the school's annual awards banquet Saturday. Front row, from left, are Justin Braden, Cavalla O'Neal, Jake Morris and Steven Evans. Back row, Joe Gentry, Jaron Jones, Don'ta Hightower and Michael Murphy.

The Marshall County football team held its annual awards banquet Saturday at the Jack M. Keny Training Facility with the Tiger Quarterback Club hosting the event.

After enduring consecutive sub .500 seasons in 2005 and 2006, the Tigers bounced back with an 8-4 record in 2007 under first-year head coach Don Thomas. Bolstered by a 7-1 start, Marshall County finished third in Region 5-3A and posted their first playoff win in three years with a 21-14 victory over Jackson South Side before losing 32-14 to eventual Class 3A state champ David Lipscomb in the second round.

"This team had great leadership out of the senior class and great work ethic," said Thomas. "They just wanted to get better, win football games and make the community proud of them."

Tiger Quarterback Club President Mike Mills began the banquet by acknowledging the numerous individuals who sacrificed their time to make the program successful before showing a slideshow of the 2007 season put together by the Tiger Quarterback Club.

See Wednesday's Tribune for the complete story.