Neill elected county chairman

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Marshall County Commissioner Sam Smith resigned as chairman of the commission on Monday night and commissioners elected Commissioner Mary Ann Neill as his successor.

Neill was elected 13-4 over County Mayor Joe Boyd Liggett who had been a candidate for chairman of the County Commission in the weeks after he took office in September 2006. Smith had been chairman for 3-1/2 years.

"I've got a 5-year-old and a 13-year-old," Smith said in explaining why he could not continue as chairman. "It's taking time. It's been a good run."

While some county school principals on the commission chided Smith for citing family reasons on why he resigned, Commissioner Joe B. Brandon, who recently declined to continue as chairman of the county budget committee after decades of service, praised Smith for his leadership.

See Wednesday's Tribune for the complete story.