Babe Ruth League holds closing ceremonies

Wednesday, July 2, 2008
Tribune photos by Louis G. Scheuchenzuber United Telephone catcher Richard Hardin tags out Nichirin's Dakota Fagan at home plate.

The Marshall County Babe Ruth League capped the 2008 season on Saturday by holding its closing ceremonies at Jonathan D. Hollingsworth Park. League President Mike Mills began the festivities by thanking all the people who donated their time and energy to the league as volunteers.

Having competed in their last Marshall County Babe Ruth game earlier in the day, the 15-year-old players were given a Certificate of Achievement by Mills. After league runner-up Marshall Medical Center received their trophy, the Elks hoisted the championship trophy for the eighth straight season after defeating MMC that afternoon.

The Most Valuable Player Awards were then given out for each age group. United Telephone's Zack Horvath took home the 13-year-old MVP, while Marshall Medical Center's Cody Vernon received the 14-year-old MVP. The Elks' Brandon Hollingsworth and United Telephone's Dane Leonard, meanwhile, were named Co-MVP for the 15-year- olds.

Mills then gave out the individual awards for the 2008 season. After leading his team to victory on the mound just a few hours earlier, the Elks' P.J. Allen garnered the Pitching Award and the Stolen Bases Award, while Marshall Medical Center's Lucas Laster earned the Outfielder Award and the RBI Award. MMC's Morgan Reese claimed the Infielder Award and Horvath won the Batting Award with a gaudy .611 average.

Pick up a copy of today's edition, Wednesday, July 2, 2008 for story, All-Star photos and closing ceremony highlights.