Change guaranteed from School Board election

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

Marshall County's Board of Education will be different in September as a result of at least two School District races in the Aug. 7 election when two members are not running for office.

Incumbents Jerry Campbell of McDaniel Hollow Road at Cornersville and Todd Warner of Powell Road near the Duck River will be leaving the board, thereby creating an open race in their districts; Nos. 4 and 2 respectively.

Delinda Owens of Pulaski Highway at Cornersville is the apparent successor for Campbell, since there's no other candidate to be named on the ballot and there's no write-in campaign for the District 4 seat.

Meanwhile, there's a three-way race for the seat to which Warner was appointed last year. The candidates are: Denise Cannon, Harvey E. Jones and Mark Wilkerson. The winning candidate among those three will be new to the board.

School District 7 incumbent Ann Tears of Crick Street is being challenged by Keith Hollingsworth of McBride Road.

In District 8, incumbent John McCullough is being challenged by Curt Denton.

School Board members Randy Perryman, Kristen Gold, Tim Harrison and Todd Tietgens are serving in terms that expire at the end of August 2010.

Yesterday was the last day to register to vote in the county general election concluding on Aug. 7.

Early voting starts July 18 and continues 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to noon on three Saturdays of July 19, 26 and Aug. 2. The election office in the Hardison Annex on College Street is where early voting is conducted.

Two special elections for the balance of terms on the County Commission are also on the ballot.

Two seats on the Commission are open because of the resignations of Sam Smith and Jennifer Harris.

Candidates campaigning to succeed Smith are Jimmy Wolaver, who was appointed to the position by the Commission, and Georgann Blackburn.

Candidates running for the seat vacated by Harris are Doug Martin, who was appointed by the Commission, and John C. Williams, Phillip T. Allen and William "Billy" Spivey.