Junior golfers get in the swing

Wednesday, August 6, 2008
Saddle Creek GC Junior Camp participants pose for a group picture following the pizza party on Friday evening at the clubhouse.

By Beth Leftwich

Special to The Tribune

Saddle Creek Golf Club hosted its annual Junior Golf Camp and Tournament the week of July 28 for young golfers age 5-17. The eager group spent each morning learning the fundamentals of the full swing, short game and putting, as well as the rules of golf and etiquette.

Friday concluded with the Saddle Creek Junior Tournament, which featured four girls' divisions and four boys' divisions, based on age. Scores and overall champions were not revealed until the pizza party for players and their families held that evening at the clubhouse.

Saddle Creek Golf Club staffers who instructed the juniors all week were Jason Lopes, Jamie Moorefield, Brie Rowdon and Olivia Love. The camp and tournament are sponsored each year by Saddle Creek Golf Club and owner Brent McLay, along with Bobby Beech and National Bridle Shop.

The Natalie Gulbis Division winner was Alexa Hooten. Others in this division included McKinley Stiff, Sara Browning, Annie Hawkins and Sydnie Spivey.

The Paula Creamer Division winner was Leah Hollingsworth. Others in this division included Emma Grace Reese, Ellie Jackson and Taylor Walls.

The Lorena Ochoa Division winner was Grace Medley, who competed against Ashton Watkins.

The Annika Sorenstam Division winner was Dayna LaRoue. Others in this division included Courtney Hosford and Danielle Witt.

The Camillo Villegas Division winner was Colton Barbar. Others in this division were Aiden McLay, Caleb Gill, Graham Duke, Tilden Jackson, Will Medley, Trey Kimes and Warren White.

The Sergio Garcia Division winner was Trent Richardson. Others in this division were Davis George, Travis Wunderlin, Stuart Warner, Ben Taylor, Jacob Autry, Addison Kimes and Taylor Barton.

The Phil Mickelson Division winner was Brooks Leftwich. Others in this division were Austin Blade, Curt Taylor, Hunter Talley and Wilson Spivey.

The Tiger Woods Division winner was Brian Gill. Others in this division were John Gill, Coy Gill, Nolan Witt, Josh Benavidez and Kyle Szyperski.