Two county leaders resign

Friday, September 26, 2008
Tribune photo by Clint Confehfr Joe B. Brandon (left) talks with fellow commissioners after resigning his seat Monday. Brandon was 25 when he was first elected to the commission.

A long-time Marshall County commissioner and the immediate past chairman of the County School Board have resigned. Applications will be accepted from people who want to be appointed by the County Commission to those open positions.

Commissioner Joe B. Brandon announced his decision during the regular monthly meeting of the County Commission on Monday. Commission Chairwoman Mary Ann Neill announced that Tim Harrison, a now-former member of the School Board, had also resigned.

County commissioners will consider applicants for each position and select a successor during their Oct. 27 meeting. No special election will be held with the presidential election.

"It's too close to this November's election to get them on the ballot," County Mayor Joe Boyd Liggett said Wednesday.

Brandon and Harrison were elected in August 2006. Those terms end on Aug. 31, 2010. People appointed as successors to those posts might serve nearly two years unless they're elected to remain in office in the summer of 2010.

"Due to work I do mostly in the Knoxville area, I have not been able to attend the meetings as needed," Harrison said in a resignation letter that took effect Sept. 19.

During the Commission meeting, Brandon spoke of work responsibilities, a desire to spend more time with his family, and plans to take college classes as reasons for his resignation that took effect Tuesday.

"After much thought and deliberation, I have decided that it is in the best interest of the citizens of the 6th District and me to resign as commissioner," Brandon said.

Brandon, of 1934 New Columbia Highway, was a 6th District commissioner. That district includes the part of Lewisburg with Westhills, Marshall County High School, part of Mooresville Highway and the Franklin Pike area, according to Jo Ann Henry, administrator of county elections.

Harrison, of 451 Moonlight Trail, represented the 5th District. Residents of that district vote at Westhills Elementary School and would be eligible to apply for the seat on the board. The district extends across a southern part of Lewisburg from Joyce Avenue to the Recreation Center and out Mooresville Highway on the south side of that road. Ridgetop Apartments are in the district that includes part of Craig Moore Road.

Voters who are unsure about which district they're in, may call the election office at 359-4894.

"Your expertise has been acknowledged," the commission chairwoman told Brandon after he thanked the residents he's served.

"I think I was 25" years old when first elected to the Commission, Brandon said.

Brandon served when the Commission was called he Quarterly Court and the county mayor's position carried the title of County Judge, a title that was replaced with county executive.

"A lot of things have happened," Brandon said.

"I need to spend more time at my job," he continued. "I want to go back to school.

Brandon said he'd spent six hours in front of a computer recently as he dealt with enrollment matters.

"I'm not under the mistaken impression that one person makes a heck of a lot of difference," Brandon said. "It's been a good ride."

As for Harrison, Neill said, "Tim has served loyally."

School Board member Ann Tears was recently elected by the Board to be its chairwoman.

Brandon had been chairman of the County Commission's Budget and Finance Committee for many years.