School system names top teachers

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Marshall County's School System has announced its 2009 Teachers of the Year.

They are:

* Vicky Carlton, Cornersville High School

* Jeanne Wiles, Lewisburg Middle School

* Todd Campbell, Oak Grove Elementary School

The teachers of the year were honored with a bouquet of balloons from County Schools Director Stan Curtis, and Instruction Supervisors Becky Hill and Beverly Miller on Friday last week. Announcements of their honor were made over the schools' public address systems.

"The selection committee had a tough time deciding the system winners because all of the candidates were worthy," Curtis said. "These (teachers) are to be commended for their outstanding dedication to the students of Marshall County year after year."

Carlton, Wiles, and Campbell now proceed to the next level of competition, which will conclude with the announcement of the 2010 Tennessee Teacher of the Year next fall.

Teachers of the Year are selected competitively through five cycles: Building, System, Field Service Center Region, Grand Division and State; and from three levels of teaching: grades Pre K - 4, 5 - 8, and 9 -12. (These levels refer to the grade(s) taught by the teacher and not to the grade structure or designation of the school.)

State recognition/awards include a banquet honoring the nine State Teacher of the Year finalists and certificates of appreciation from Governor Bredesen. In addition, the State Finalists and the State Teacher of the Year receive cash awards from the Niswonger Foundation.

The Tennessee Teacher of the Year Program exists to: promote recognition, respect and appreciation for teachers; stimulate interest in teaching as a career; and to encourage public involvement in education.

The program is sponsored annually by the Tennessee Department of Education and the Niswonger Foundation.

The Tennessee Teacher of the Year 2009 is Luajean Bryan, who teaches mathematics at Walker Valley High School in Cleveland, Tenn. Meera Krishnan, of Shelby County, and Micahel Brown, of Montgomery County, are this year's grand division winners from West and Middle Tennessee respectively.

The Tennessee Teacher of the Year represents Tennessee at the National Teacher of the Year competition, sponsored by the Council of Chief State School Officers and Scholastic, Inc.

Tennessee teachers who have been successful at the national level in the past include Terry Weeks, 1988 National Teacher of the Year, and the 1994 Teacher of the Year, Frank Bluestein, who was named by Disney/McDonald as the 1996 Performing Arts National Teacher of the Year.