Commissioner moves out of district, has to resign

Friday, July 17, 2009

A County commissioner has resigned her seat because she has moved out of the district she was elected to represent. The county commission will appoint someone to fill that seat at their regular meeting on Aug. 24.

Linda Williams-Lee has represented Marshall County's 3rd District for almost seven years; her term was due to end in August 2010. Now, however, she has a new home in the 8th District, and is therefore resigning her seat.

Williams-Lee values the knowledge about county government she gained while on the commission, but isn't sure if she'd like to be a commissioner again at a future date.

"It's been great," she said. "I've thoroughly enjoyed it, but it's very time consuming. I've built relationships, and gotten to know people I might not have met otherwise."

Williams-Lee is a native of Belfast who graduated from Marshall County High School, and received her bachelor's degree from Austin Peay State University, and master's and Ed.S. degrees from Tennessee State University.

She has been employed by the Marshall County Board of Education since 1994, and is currently director of federal projects.

"I thoroughly enjoy what I'm doing because my focus is on children," Williams-Lee said. "It's very rewarding for me; I enjoy working with the principals and teachers every day."

She has also sat on the boards of other county organizations like the health council, the child development center, the Belfast volunteer fire department, as well as belonging to the Rotary and the Kiwanis.

Williams-Lee has also been a member of numerous state committees related to her job, and chaired the Middle Tennessee Federal Directors Committee for two years.

The 3rd District's other commissioner is Scottie Poarch and their school board member is Kristen Gold.

Anyone desiring to apply for Williams-Lee's unexpired term must be a registered voter who resides in the 3rd District of Marshall County. A letter of intention may be mailed or hand-delivered to the County Mayor's office, 1108 Courthouse Annex, Lewisburg, TN 37091, by 4 p.m. Friday, Aug. 7. Interested parties may also appear the day of the County Commission meeting and ask the County Clerk to include their name with those desiring this appointment. The term will expire on Aug. 31, 2010, with the seat then being filled by the voters of the 3rd District in the August 2010 general election.

For more information, call 359-4894.