Early Voting Scheduled To Begin in DREMC elections

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Members of Duck River Electric Membership Corporation will soon be going to the polls to cast their ballots in the election of four members to serve on the cooperative's Board of Directors. Voting will take place in each of DREMC's seven offices between Saturday, August 15 and Friday, August 21. The Cooperative's Annual Membership Meeting is scheduled for Saturday, August 22, at the Harris Middle School auditorium in Shelbyville, but unlike previous years there will be no voting at the Annual Meeting itself.

This will be the first time in the cooperative's history that early voting has taken place following a change to the electric system's bylaws in 2005 which provides for votes to be cast no more than seven days in advance of the annual meeting and the results announced to the meeting audience on the day of the meeting.

Six candidates have been placed on the ballot, either by the Cooperative's Committee on Nominations or by petition, for the four zones which have vacancies this year. Individual candidates in three of the zones will be running uncontested while three candidates are vying for the post in Zone 4, which includes representation for DREMC members living in Bedford and Rutherford counties. Voting is "at-large" which means that members from all parts of the cooperative's 15-county service area will be allowed to vote for one candidate from each zone.

Brent Willis, a farmer in the Hillsboro community and currently Chairman of the DREMC Board, has been nominated for re-election to the Board to represent Zone 1, Coffee and Warren Counties. Nelson Crouch, an electrical engineer at Arnold Engineering Development Center, has been nominated to fill the seat being vacated by retiring director Terry Holder, who currently represents Zone 2, Franklin, Grundy and Marion Counties. Kenneth Stacey, a retired industrial manager and owner of a Lewisburg paint store, has been nominated for re-election to represent Zone 5, Marshall and Giles counties.

Zone 4, Bedford and Rutherford counties, has previously been represented by Bedford County farmer Bobby Vannatta. Although he had previously announced his plans not to run for re-election to the Board, Mr. Vannatta submitted his resignation to Board Chairman Brent Willis on July 17, 2009 indicating that due to declining health issues over the past year he was asking to step down, effective immediately.

Nominated to appear on the ballot from Zone 4 seeking to replace Mr. Vannatta are William F. "Bill" Neese, a retired utility supply salesman and current farmer and real estate agent, Joe Wayne Tucker, a cattle farmer and retired electrical engineer from Arnold Engineering Development Center, and Tracy Vannatta, a row crop and poultry farmer.

DREMC members are reminded that all voting will take place prior to the Annual Meeting and that no voting will be conducted during the meeting itself, which is set to begin on August 22 at 9:30 a.m., where the results of the early voting and the winning candidates will be announced. Harris Middle School is located at 570 Eagle Blvd. in Shelbyville. Members attending are encouraged to enter off Learning Way for easier access to parking and the school's auditorium.

Early voting at each of the cooperative's seven office locations will take place as per the following schedule of dates and times:

Saturday, August 15 -- 8 a.m. until 3 p.m.

Monday, August 17 -- 8 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Tuesday, August 18 -- 8 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Wednesday, August 19 -- 8 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Thursday, August 20 -- 8 a.m. until 9 p.m.

Friday, August 21 -- 8 a.m. until 4 p.m.