Commissioners appoint members of school board

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

A former member of the Marshall County School Board and a man who ran for a seat on the panel were appointed to the school board by county commissioners during their monthly meeting Monday night.

Former board member Barbara Kennedy was elected 10-7 over Dee Dee Sale, a long-time leader in walking horse associations. Kennedy, the mother of four school children, succeeds Todd Tietgens who resigned after Stan Curtis was dismissed as schools director.

Harvey E. Jones Jr. was elected 12-5 over Steven Anglin of Freedom Home Buyers, LLC & Property Management of Middle Tennessee. Jones was one of three candidates in the August 2008 election to fill the seat held by Todd Warner who had been appointed to the board, but who decided against running for election. Jones succeeds Mark Wilkerson who resigned because of a work opportunity elsewhere with General Motors.

Kennedy and Jones were appointed to serve until Aug. 5, the next county election. Jones represents the 2nd District. Kennedy represents the 6th District.

Kennedy's election was secured after Commissioner Seth Warf changed his vote from Sale to Kennedy, a step taken after Commission Chairman Billy Spivey noted that the original vote count was 9-8.

"Does that meet the requirement?" Spivey asked about whether a majority of the commissioners attending, or a majority of the 18 commissioners (10) is needed. County Attorney Ginger Shofner recommended following tradition. Then, County Clerk Daphne Fagan asked if any commissioner wanted to change their vote and Warf's announcement resolved the impasse.

Kennedy wrote to County Mayor Joe Boyd Liggett in an e-mail on Nov. 9 saying that her experience on the board would simplify the transition during this interim term.

Jones is a department manager at Southeastern Technology where he's worked for 43 years at the machine shop. He's also served as vice president of the Marshall County Girls Little League Softball for two years.

Voting for Jones were Commissioners Scottie Poarch, Tony Williams, Mickey King, Spivey, Don Ledford, Jimmy Stitt, Warf, Larry McKnight, Richard Medley, Dean Delk, E.W. Hill, and Rocky Bowden.

Voting for Anglin were Commissioners Jimmy Wolaver, Tony White, Reynelle Smith, Wilford "Spider" Wentzel and Mary Ann Neill.

Voting for Kennedy were Poarch, Wolaver, Spivey, Ledford, Stitt, Warf, Medley, Delk, Hill and Bowden.

Voting for Sells were Williams, King, White, Smith, Wentzel, McKnight and Neill.

Commissioner Phil Willis was absent for personal reasons.

The next meeting of the school board is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. on Dec. 14, but there's a Policy Committee meeting Dec. 3 at 5:30 p.m. when Jones is to attend because he's on that committee. Also that night, there's a non-voting work session for the board set to start an hour after the Policy Committee meeting starts. The board and its committees meet in school headquarters on Jones Circle, Lewisburg.