Lynnville notes

Friday, June 11, 2010

Saturday, June 5, was a great day in Lynnville for all the alumni of the Robert B. Jones High School Tigers. Alumni started arriving at 10 a.m. at the Lynnville Municipal Building to talk and tell old stories about Jones High and Lynnville and to register. At noon, a delicious potluck lunch was served. The serving table was covered with good food. The blessing was given by Billy Randolph of the Class of 1954. After lunch, President Bobby Allen Hollis Jr., Class of 1972, called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Secretary, Judy Hewitt Roberts of the Class of 1962, read the minutes of the 2009 meeting. The minutes were approved. Treasurer, Barbara Ann Hobbs Smith, Class of 1966, gave the treasurer's report. The alumni association gave two scholarships last year to two Richland High School Seniors in the amount of $500 each and will give two scholarships to two seniors in 2010. The treasurer's report was approved. There was no old or new business. A moment of silence for the deceased alumni in 2009 was held. Next in theprogram came the recognition of three outstanding alumni of Jones High School. Billy Randolph, Class of 1954, presented the first outstanding alumni award to his brother, Joe Randolph, Class of 1956. Bobby Allen Hollis Jr., Class of 1972, presented the next outstanding alumni award to Wilburn Clark, Class of 1934, and Joe Randolph, Class of 1956, presented the third outstanding alumni award to his brother, Billy Randolph, Class of 1954. The roll call of classes was held from 1900 to 1978. Wilburn Clark of the Class of 1934 was the oldest graduate in attendance. The program ended with the singing of the school "Alma Mater." The meeting adjourned and will meet next year the first Saturday in June.

Lynnville's annual "Blackberry Festival" will be held on Saturday, June 26. There will be a full day of activities for everyone to enjoy. Vendors wanting to set up and sell their wares should contact 931-527-0032 or 931-527-3922. There will be something for everyone.

The Richland Baptist Church, located at 10930 Columbia Highway, Lynnville, will have Vacation Bible School June 27 through 30. The time is 6 to 8 p.m. The Vacation Bible School Kick-Off will be Saturday, June 26, at 6 p.m. with lots of food, fun, and fellowship.

Miss Judy's Academy located in Lynnville started summer on June 1 for three to 12 year olds. The new school year will begin Aug. 2 for three year olds and pre-school and after school care. For more information, contact Miss Judy at 931-527-0032. Be sure to call and reserve a space for your child, "where learning is fun."

Anyone wanting to take piano lessons this summer should contact Bobby Allen Hollis Jr. at 931-527-3466.

This column will start something new in the next few weeks. Anyone with a favorite recipe or recipes should send them to "Favorite Recipes," Straight From the Tracks of Lynnville, P. O. Box 66, Lynnville, TN 38472. Since June is dairy month, all recipes should contain a dairy product. Your name will be listed with your recipe in the paper. All recipes in June must be sent in by June 14, 21, or 28.

News from the campus of Richland Middle and High School:

Summer school started on Wednesday, June 2, and will end on Tuesday, June 29, at Richland.

The following list of graduates from The Robert B. Jones High School was taken from the annual, The Summitt, in 1978: 1900-No Graduates; 1901-No Graduates; 1902-J. L. Jones; 1903-Nannie Bills, Brooks Dabney, Larna B. Dickerson, Sue Fleming, Dovie Martin, and Bessie Wagstaff; 1904-Katharine Brown and Myrtle Davis; 1905-Henry Blackburn, Elsie Calvert, Ida Dabney, Lessie Griffis, Callie Mae Hamblin, Minnie Smith, Owen Tate, Orvis VanCleave, and Helen Walker; 1906-Mattie Mae Braley, Susie Cavnor, Bessie Lou King, Joe Gilbert King, Emmett Lowery, and Adelaide Wagstaff; 1907-Everett Richardson, Lenice Alford, Bryant Orr, Lena Compton, John Ed Walker, and Willie Martin; 1908-Clyde Wagstaff, Hutton Brown, Edward Griffis, Annie Louise Dickerson, Ethel Colvert, Kathleen Fry, Raymond Reeves, and Marine Bledsoe; 1909-William Wagstaff and Justin Knox; 1910-Rachel Witt, Katie Cavnor, LeRoy Cavnor, Maggie Walker, George Walker, and Mary E. Buford. The list of graduates will continue next week in this column.