Moses, Gold win school board races

Friday, August 6, 2010

Five seats on the nine-member school board were up for grabs in the 2010 election, but only two of them were contested.

Donnie Moses trounced incumbent Craig Michael in the 9th District by almost 200 votes (515-319). Moses campaigned with the slogan, "Isn't it time for a change?" and his campaign ads highlighted problems the Marshall County school system has had in the last four years. Moses is a business owner with a young daughter in the school system. His wife was employed at the Board of Education's Central Office as federal bookkeeper until her job was eliminated as part of schools director Roy Dukes' cost-cutting measures.

On the ballot for the 3rd District it says "No Candidate Qualified," but both Kristen Gold, the incumbent, and R.L. Williams submitted their names as write-in candidates. Gold, who has worked hard as chairman of the school board's budget committee, received 209 votes, while Williams, a former county commissioner and stormwater director got only 53 votes.

Barbara Kennedy, Harvey Jones Jr., and school board chairman Mike Keny ran unopposed. Randy Perryman, Dee Dee Owens, Ann Tears, and Curt Denton are halfway through four-year terms and did not face the voters this year.