State House candidates debate Thursday

Friday, October 22, 2010

With a direct statement from the Cornersville High School principal, the Marshall County Tribune has been cleared to land its next candidates debate at that school's auditorium on Thursday night.

"We're ready to go," Principal Bob Edens said Wednesday to Tribune Senior Staff Writer Clint Confehr about the newspaper- sponsored political debate between three men campaigning to represent Marshall and Giles counties in the Tennessee House of representatives.

State Rep. Eddie Bass (D-Prospect) is being challenged by former Marshall County Commission Chairman Billy Spivey, a Lewisburg Republican, and former Spring Hill Alderman Ted Roop, the Independent candidate now living in Lynnville.

Cornersville High School was selected as the new venue for the state House debate because it is, generally, halfway between Lewisburg and Pulaski, the county seats for the two counties in District 65.

The debate will begin at 6 p.m., and its format will be much like the debate on Monday night in the Lecture Hall at Marshall County High School between state Sen. Bill Ketron (R-Murfreesboro) and his Democratic challenger, Columbia City Councilwoman Debbie Matthews.

"We're pleased to be able to provide voters with another in-person opportunity to compare and contrast candidates in these political campaigns," Tribune General Manager Jim Ward said. "The school system has been very helpful as we offer these debates, and we thank Schools Director Roy Dukes for his support, the school's leadership and staff, and especially the students who provided their time, help and thinking to make the events more worthwhile."

Because the state House debate is being held on a Thursday -- the only day seen as feasible since it had to be rescheduled -- news reports on the event are to be posted on the newspaper's Web site,, and published in the Marshall County Shopper, the free weekly advertising vehicle distributed county-wide every Monday.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 2. Early voting ends at 4 p.m. Thursday at the Marshall County Election Commission office in the Hardison Office Annex on College Street.