Forrest alums tee it up at Henry Horton

Wednesday, August 10, 2011
Shooting as final score of 57 to claim first place in the first flight at the Forrest Alumni Association's Golf Tournament Saturday at Henry Horton State Park was the team of left to right, Lee Cothran, Frank Osteen, Ronnie Horton, and Jerry Byrd. Tribune photos by Anthony S. Puca

On Saturday at Henry Horton State Park, the Forrest Alumni Association kicked off their daylong reunion event schedule with a four-man scramble at the beautiful Buford Ellington Golf Course.

The Alumni Association holds the annual event to promote fellowship and camaraderie amongst the community with the alums and to raise money for the organization's scholarship fund.

Last year, the Forrest Alumni Association awarded scholarships to graduating Forrest seniors Tommy Ring, Lisa Welch, Cory Bishop, Ross Strasser, Lenzie Howell, Connor Perryman, and Chelsey Bowman.

In the second flight, a 66 earned the Waste Management team of left to right, Phil Rogers, Stacey Cothran, Lewisburg mayor Barbara Woods, and Larry Godbey 1st place.

It was a wet, soggy, and sticky day, making the 6,604-yard layout even more difficult, but the team of Ronnie Horton, Frank Osteen, Lee Cothran, and Jerry Byrd made it look easy, sharpshooting their way to a fifteen under par score of 57 to take first place in the first flight on the 39-year-old course.

The Truette Construction squad, consisting of Forrest Alumni Association Treasurer Ricky Sweeney, Ryan Sweeney, Forrest vice principal Davy McClaran, and Forrest Lady Rocket head basketball coach Jeremy Jean took home second place in the first flight, four shots behind the Horton foursome at 61.

Top spot in the second flight with a score of 65 went to the Waste Management Team, consisting of Forrest Alumni Association vice-president Stacey Cothran, Lewisburg Mayor Barbara Woods, Larry Godbey, and Phil Rogers.

Second place in the first light with a score of 61 went to the Truette Construction team left to right, Ryan Sweeney, Ricky Sweeney, Jeremy Jean, and Davy McClaran.

Second place in the second flight with a score of 66 was the team of Marshall County District 1 Commissioner Mike Waggoner, David Barnes, Tom Pierce, and Ashley Boykin.

Closest to the pin on the 177-yard Par 3, second hole was Forrest Athletic Director Scott Delk and winner of the longest drive on the 592-yard monster, Par 5 finishing hole was Rodney King.