Moos named Rocket commander

Sunday, December 11, 2011
From left, Forrest Athletic Director Scott Delk, new Rocket head football coach Joe Moos, and FHS Principal Danny Morgan are all smiles after Moos' hiring for the top job was announced at Saturday night's annual football banquet. Photos by Anthony S. Puca

Last week, Forrest Rockets head football coach Kyle Stacey stepped down after a successful 64-53 nine-year stint at the helm, citing personal reasons for his resignation.

Forrest Principal Danny Morgan and Athletic Director Scott Delk did not leave the spot vacant for long, introducing 1999 Riverdale High School and MTSU graduate Joe Moos as the new head coach during the team's annual football banquet Saturday night in Chapel Hill.

"The first thing I would like to do is thank Jesus Christ, my Lord and savior. I would like to give him all the glory for this," said Moos. "And then I would like to thank my family."

Moos came to Marshall County with former MCHS head coach Don Thomas from LaVergne High School before moving over to Cornersville for a one-year stint under longtime Bulldog head coach Ray Stocstill.

Moos came to Chapel Hill last season as an assistant under Stacey, who he said about, "If I can just do half of what Coach Stacey did I would be pleased and be very happy. Coach Stacey is a great man, a respected man, a wonderful man and I would like to follow in his footsteps."

Kyle Stacey addresses his squad for the last time at the team's annual football banquet Saturday night in Chapel Hill.

Under Stacey, Forrest made five TSSAA State Tournament playoff appearances, including a first round win this season versus Houston County before losing a last second heartbreaker to Decatur County-Riverside in the second round as the Rockets finished 8-4.

"We just have to keep working hard and try to keep doing the things that Coach Stacey has set in place and just see what happens," said Moos.

Also announced at the banquet were several District 9A post-season awards, including Zach Ray (Offensive Back of the Year), Logan Wheeler (Lineman of the Year), and Angel Reyes (Special Teams Player of the Year).

Other first team selections were Paten Pruitt (DE-OL), Brooks Lamb (QB), Richie Smith (FB), Brandon Beech (RB-LB), Jacob Daughrity (RB-DB), and Eli Perryman (OL-DL).

Honorable mention selections went to Jonathon Anderson (TE-LB), Spenser McGuiggan (DE-OL), Tony Johnson (WR-DB), and Zach Osborne (LB-OL).