Hoop Shoot winners move on to district competition

Friday, December 16, 2011

Elks Lodge No. 1990 held their annual Hoop Shoot at Lewisburg Middle School on Nov. 19.

The winners were:

* 8-9 year olds - girls: 1st Lily Burget; boys: 1st Carter Speedy, 2nd Braden Blackwell.

* 10-11 year olds - girls: 1st Jenna Hill; boys: 1st Kelby Blackwell, 2nd Tilden Jackson.

* 12-13 year olds - girls: 1st Leah Hollingsworth, 2nd Carson Coble; boys: 1st Austin Ridinger, 2nd Cody Umbles.

The first place winners will be going to Lawrenceburg on Dec. 17 to shoot in the District Shoot. At the District, there will be shooters from Columbia, Pulaski, Nashville, Madison, Gallatin, Fayetteville, and Lawrenceburg.

The winners from this shoot will be shooting for the state in January against two other districts.

Thanks to Lewisburg Middle School, the Elks members, and the parents of the competitors for all their help in putting on the Hoop Shoot.