Liggett runs away with Saddle Creek golf title

Wednesday, August 1, 2012
Gross winners from left, Eddie Wiles (3rd Place), Tracy Northington (Saddle Creek Golf Club Director of Sales and Marketing) and 2012 Club Champion Joe Liggett pose after the tournament's conclusion on Sunday. Not pictured: Mike Tankersley (2nd place). Photos by Anthony S. Puca

The Saddle Creek Men's Golf Association (MGA) held their club championship event this past weekend and Joe Liggett ran away with the title, finishing eight shots clear of second place.

Liggett fired a three-under par 69 (30-39) in the first round on Saturday and followed that up with a solid five-under par 67 (32-35) in round two on Sunday for a 136 total.

Defending champion Mike Tankersley shot an even par total of 74-70 for a second place finish.

The tournament was divided in to two flights with the gross total coming from the actual scores carded, while the net division subtracted each player's USGA handicap index from the actual posted score on each day.

Eddie Wiles, a three handicap, shot 71-76 for a third place finish in the gross division, while Brian Borton came home in fourth with 76-74.

Joey Morefield, MGA president and two-time TSSAA state champion at MCHS, carded rounds of 77-74 for fifth place.

The net winner, sporting a seven handicap was Jason Lopes, who shot rounds of 76-73 for a 149 gross total and with his handicap adjustment, Lopes ended up with a 135 net score.

Net winners from left, Ryan Johnson (2nd place), Jason Lopes (1st place), Tracy Northington (Saddle Creek Golf Club Director of Sales and Marketing) and Glenn Anderson (3rd place).

Second place went to two-handicapped Ryan Johnson 75-70 (145-141), Glenn Anderson, a five handicap shot 77-75 (152-142) for third place, fourth place went to twelve handicapper Barry White 81-85 (166-142), and the fifth spot belonged to five handicapper Robby Giles 80-71 (151-143).

Closets to the pin winners on the par 3 number five hole were Robby Giles on Saturday and Ivan McCullough on Sunday.

On number seven, Liggett won the honors on Saturday and David Delk stuck it to within inches on Sunday.

White took closest to the pin on number 13 on Saturday, while Liggett knocked it stiff on Sunday.

Tankersley won the closest to the pin honors on the 17th hole on Saturday and McCullough took the honor on Sunday.

The MGA's next signature event is the Member/Guest, or better known as the Summer Hummer on Aug. 18 and 19.

Final Results

Joe Liggett 69/67-136

Mike Tankersley 74/70-144

Ryan Johnson 75/70-145

Eddie Wiles 71/76-147

Jason Lopes 76/73-149

Brian Borton 76-74-150

Joey Morefield 77-74-151

Robby Giles 80/71-151

Glenn Anderson 77/75-152

Steven Pennington 79/74-153

Jim Durso 80/74-154

Tootles Neil 86/73-159

Anthony Puca 83/77-160

Glenn Hardison 80/82-162

Ricky Sweeney 78/87-165

Matt Rush 84/82-166

Barry White 81/85-166

Ivan McCullough 83/83-166

Bill Marsh 81/85-166

Eddie Roberts 85/83-168

Buddy Tankersley 84/85-169

John Serley 87/82-169

John Karby 83/88-171

Roger Harwell 89/84-173

Chuck Forbis 88/87-175

Jack Freeland 88/87-175

Steve Bowden 88/88-176

Veryl Riddle 90/86-176

Bubba Russell 79/89-178

Troy Frassrand 93/86-179

Joe Tant 91/89-180

Pat Sweeney 87/93-180

David Delk 93/95-188

John Jackson 96/98-194