Rec Center walking bridge named in Jones' honor

Friday, October 26, 2012
Some of the participants in the golf tournament. Photos submitted

On Sunday, Dec. 11, 2011, Lewisburg and Marshall County lost one of its great native sons and beloved golfer, Jeff Jones.

Jones was an ambassador of golf in our community and spent endless hours at the Recreation Center practicing, playing, and in fellowship, with the many patrons that play at the Ewell Butler Golf Course.

True mentor

Winners in Championship Flight -- left to right -- Brian Scott, Guy Chambers, Chris Harrelson and Buddy Wiles.

Jones' support of youth golf in this community was endless, as teaching and mentoring young golfers was one of his true passions.

His connection with young golfers was limitless, garnering respect with his playing abilities, but his sincerity in teaching them to do the right thing was truly the key to that connection.

Jones was one of Marshall County's golfing champions, winning countless tournaments at the Recreation Center and throughout Middle Tennessee and North Alabama, including multiple Marshall County Open Championships.

Blake Tansil from Forrest High -- First recipient of the Jeff Jones Medal, which is a county wide medal -- Jason Jones, Vickie White, Wayne Jones, Blake Tansil, Barbara Jones, Bill Jones


On Tuesday, Feb. 14, the Lewisburg City Council unanimously approved a request to name the walking bridge between Number 3 green and Number 4 tee box the Jeff Jones Memorial Bridge.

On Sept. 3, Jones' friends flocked to his beloved golf course to compete in the first Jeff Jones Memorial Golf Tournament, with all the proceeds donated to the Marshall County High School, Forrest and Cornersville golf teams.

Winners in 2nd Flight -- left to right -- Danny Hollingsworth, Jason Tatum, Keith Hollingsworth, Brandon Hollingsworth


At the end of the day, the winners in Championship Flight were Brian Scott, Guy Chambers, Chris Harrelson, and Buddy Wiles.

First Flight winners were Robbie Giles, Jason Donahue, Luke Buckley, and Ryan Perryman.

Winners in 1st Flight -- left to right -- Robbie Giles, Jason Donahue, Luke Buckley, Ryan Perryman

Coming to the clubhouse at the top of the Second Flight was Danny Hollingsworth, Jason Tatum, Keith Hollingsworth and Brandon Hollingsworth.

Closest to the pin winners were Rodney Little, Donnie Griffis, John Karby, and Buck Beard.


Jones remains missed by all that knew him and played golf with him and this honor will be a lasting tribute to Jones and will be seen by all those that knew him and those future golfers that will continue to play the Lewisburg Recreation Center Golf Course.