[Nameplate] Light Rain ~ 47°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 54°F
Thursday, Jan. 19, 2017

Rockets sweep home dual meet

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Forrest freshman Ivan Wentzel improved to 10-3 on the season with a pair of pins Thursday night in Chapel Hill, including this one versus Lawrence County's 145-pounder Chris Littrell. Photos submitted
The Forrest Rockets' wrestling team continued their hot streak Thursday night in Chapel Hill, improving to 13-4 on the season after sweeping LaVergne and Lawrence County in a Dual Meet.

"We are off to a good start, but it is a long season and we must stay healthy and keep improving each day," said Forrest head coach Kyle Stacey. "I feel like we have a pretty good chance of sending 3 or 4 to state, but it's hard to say this early in the season."

Overwhelming lead

Forrest quickly caged the LaVergne Wolverines, winning 11 straight matches to begin the meet with a 66-0 lead, including six consecutive pins by Jerry Jordan, Dontay Baugh, Tyler McClendon, Zach McCoy, Spenser McGuiggan and Logan Wright.

C.J. Monce, Alex Jordan, Cage Hargrove and Peyton Sisk were all awarded forfeits.

Cooper McNair also recorded a pin for the Rockets in the 132-pound weight class and Ivan Wentzel tallied the final six points for Forrest with a pin over LaVergne's Stefan Guzman (145 lbs.).

Wildcats challenge

Wentzel Ivan got the Rockets going with a pin over Chris Littrell to begin the match versus Lawrence County before the Wildcats won the next two matches.

Baugh got six points with a pin on Anthony Ortega before McClendon lost a close 5-4 decision to Nathan Beaulieu.

McCoy righted the Rockets' ship for good with a pin over Jacob Victory before McGuiggan, Monce, and Alex Jordan all won by forfeit.

Sophomore Cooper McNair also went 2-0 on Thursday, evening his record at 9-9 on the season, including a pin over Wildcat grappler Tristan Martin in the 132-pound weight class.
Hargrove pinned Jordan Haney in the 120-poud weight class and McNair came up with a pin over Tristan Martin at 132.

Strong foes ahead

Wentzel ended the scoring with a forfeit for the Rockets, who travel to Coffee County on Tuesday in a Dual Meet that will end the early season hectic schedule for Forrest until the return from Christmas break.

"The advantages to wrestling a lot is the mat experience for the wrestlers, but the disadvantages sometimes can be trying to keep injuries down," said Stacey. "And wrestling strong after Christmas will be very important for us if want to continue in our improvement, heading towards the post-season."

Forrest 72 LaVergne 12

Weight Class

160/Pounds Jerry Jordan (Forrest) won by pin over Trevor Fredrickson (LaVergne) 1:02

170 Dontay Baugh (Forrest) won by pin over Jake Meguiar (LaVergne) 2:35

182 Tyler McClendon (Forrest) won by pin over Mikal Taylor (LaVergne) 0:12

195 Zach McCoy (Forrest) won by pin over Brian Sarpong-Asiedu (LaVergne) 2:44

220 Spenser McGuiggan (Forrest) won by pin over Christopher Hailey (LaVergne) 0:26

285 Logan Wright (Forrest) won by pin over Evan Walker (LaVergne) 0:50

106 CJ Monce (Forrest) won by forfeit

113 Alex Jordan (Forrest) won by forfeit

120 Cage Hargrove (Forrest) won by forfeit

126 Peyton Sisk (Forrest) won by forfeit

132 Cooper McNair (Forrest) won by pin over Cris Alcarado (LaVergne) 1:03

138 Taylor Meguiar (LaVergne) won by pin over Clay Watson (Forrest) 1:16

145 Ivan Wentzel (Forrest) won by pin over Stefan Guzman (LaVergne) 3:33

152 LeRoytarius Mayberry (LaVergne) won by forfeit

Forrest 54 Lawrence County 27

Weight Class

145/Pounds Ivan Wentzel (Forrest) won by pin over Chris Littrell (Lawrence Co.) 2:40

152 Nick Dezember (Lawrence Co.) won by forfeit

160 Cody Lynn (Lawrence Co.) won by pin over Jerry Jordan (Forrest) 1:44

170 Dontay Baugh (Forrest) won by pin over Anthony Ortega (Lawrence Co.) 0:30

182 Nathan Beaulieu (Lawrence Co.) won by decision over Tyler McClendon (Forrest) 5-4

195 Zach McCoy (Forrest) won by pin over Jacob Victory (Lawrence Co.) 2:41

220 Spenser McGuiggan (Forrest) won by forfeit

285 James Christofins (Lawrence Co.) won by pin over Logan Wright (Forrest) 1:56

106 CJ Monce (Forrest) won by forfeit

113 Alex Jordan (Forrest) won by forfeit

120 Cage Hargrove (Forrest) won by pin over Jordan Haney (Lawrence Co.) 3:22

126 Spencer Gurton (Lawrence Co.) won by pin over Peyton Sisk (Forrest) 1:26

132 Cooper McNair (Forrest) won by pin over Tristan Martin (Lawrence Co.) 2:46

138 Clay Watson (Forrest) won by forfeit