Five apply to replace Crigler on bench

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

By Karen Hall

Staff Writer

Four men and one woman have applied to replace retiring Judge Robert Crigler on the Circuit Court bench in the 17th Judicial District.

They include three lawyers in private practice, and two who are employed by the state as assistant district attorneys.

Taken in order of the date they were admitted to practice law in Tennessee, the five applicants are

* John H. Norton III of Shelbyville. Norton graduated from law school at the University of Memphis, and started practicing law in 1976. He specializes in personal injury and criminal defense cases.

* Forest A. Durard Jr., also of Shelbyville, graduated from Middle Tennessee State University and the Nashville School of Law. Durard started practice in 1989, and specializes in bankruptcy, social security and personal injury cases.

* Barbara G. Medley of Lewisburg also graduated from law school at the University of Memphis. She started practice in 1990. A former parter of Walter Bussart's, Medley is now in partnership with Cecilia Spivy in a office on the square in Lewisburg. Her specialties are family law, tort, and workers compensation cases.

* Mike Randles, currently an Assistant District Attorney who is often seen in the courtroom in Lewisburg, started practicing law in 1991. He graduated from law school at the University of Tennessee Knoxville.

* Brooke Grubb, another Assistant District Attorney, has been practicing law since 1998. He graduated from the Nashville School of Law. Grubb is rarely seen in the Marshall County courtroom; most of his cases are in the other counties of the 17th Judicial District: Lincoln, Bedford and Moore.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will hold a public meeting at 9 a.m. Friday, March 8, at the Blue Ribbon Circle Club on the Celebration Grounds in Shelbyville, to interview these five candidates.

After that, it is expected they will forward three names to Gov. Bill Haslam who will make the final choice.

Crigler's retirement will take effect May 31.