City election: last day to register is next Monday

Friday, April 5, 2013

From Staff Reports

Monday is the last day to register if you want to vote in the City of Lewisburg municipal election on Tuesday, May 7.

The Marshall County Election Commission office in Suite 120 of Hardison Annex, 230 College Street, is open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. that day.

Early voting begins the next week on Wednesday, April 17, at the Election Commission office and continues until the Thursday before the election, May 2. On Saturdays April 20 and 27 the Election Commission office will be open from 8 a.m. to noon.

There are currently 6,178 registered voters in Lewisburg's five wards, said Election Administrator Tristan Arnold.

On election day, voters should go to the precinct where they voted in the November election, Arnold said. Once they sign in, they will be given the correct ballot for their ward. The polling places are the Recreation Center, Westhills Elementary School, Hardison Annex, Lewisburg Gas Department, and the Courthouse.

All Lewisburg voters will be choosing from three candidates for mayor -- Jim Bingham, Mike Farrar, and Bill Williams.

Only three wards will be voting for councilmen. In Ward 2, Charles W. "Artie" Allen, Larry Jones, and Jeff Taylor are competing to fill the seat of retiring Councilman Hershel Davis. Ty Dalton is running against sitting Councilman Odie Whitehead Jr. in Ward 3, and Trigg Cathey is trying to replace Councilman Ronald McRady in Ward 4.

In order to vote, you must present your voter registration card and a photo ID. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

All three mayoral candidates have been given a questionnaire and the Tribune intends to publish their responses side by side on April 24 to help voters choose the right man to lead Lewisburg for the next four years.