School board meets SROs, Teachers of the Year

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

By Karen Hall


With Director of Schools Jackie Abernathy getting another excellent annual report, school board members could relax and enjoy meeting some of the people who contribute to the excellence of education in Marshall County.

First up were the School Resource Officers, starting with Mauro Edwards, who is assigned to Cornersville High School.

"He gets along great with the kids," said Principal Bob Edens. "They respect him very much. He's a big help to me, and a true friend. We're blessed to have him."

Edwards was in the military, and was a policeman and a member of the Drug Task Force before joining the Marshall County Sheriff's Department.

Marshall County High School Principal John Bush introduced his SRO, Joe Duncan.

"He's doing a great job of building relationships," Bush said.

Lori Haynes has been the SRO at Forrest since August 2010, and also visits Chapel Hill Elementary School.

"She loves the kids," said Principal Danny Morgan. "She is a true friend."

"We appreciate you all's support," said Haynes to the board members. "We can do more things because you allow us to."

Robert Warf is the SRO at Lewisburg Middle School. He is a 2002 graduate of Marshall County High School, who spent four years in the Marines before going into law enforcement.

"We're tickled to have him," said Abernathy. "He has been a wonderful asset."

Last but not least was Michael Galyon, who is the SRO in charge of visiting all the elementary schools.

"He's continually seeking ways to help us," Abernathy said. "He enjoys our children -- we wish we had five of him."

She thanked Sheriff Norman Dalton "for helping us find these fabulous folks," and Dalton responded, "We're fortunate to have the team we have; they're great to work with."

Board members were also introduced to three of the four high school students who attended SCOPE, the Student Congress on Policies in Education, run by the Tennessee School Boards Association. They were Alyssa Elliott, Patrick Kennedy, and Grace Medley. Katie Warrick also went to SCOPE, but she couldn't come to the board meeting -- she was playing in a softball game.

TSSAA state wrestling champion (195 pounds) Tyler McClendon and his coach Kyle Stacey were introduced to the board.

So were, for the first time anyone can remember, award-winning sibling teachers: Wes Hobbs, District Coach of the Year, and Ashley Hobbs, Chapel Hill Elementary School K-4 Teacher of the Year.

Next it was the turn of the Teachers of the Year, and Abernathy had taught at least two of them, Andrea Hardison and Laura Ledford.

"These teachers do an outstanding job," said Abernathy. "They represent all the teachers in Marshall County. Our children are so fortunate to have this caliber of teacher."

Abernathy's contract expires in June 2015.

"In light of the building program, I would like us to consider extending Ms. Abernathy's contract for one more year, with her approval," said board member Donnie Moses, and board members unanimously approved putting this on the agenda at next month's meeting.

Before next month's meeting, board members will have the pleasurable task of hosting a reception for the valedictorians and salutatorians of all three high schools.