Waggoner to chair County Commission

Friday, September 5, 2014

From Staff Reports

In a short meeting Tuesday, the new county commissioners elected Mike Waggoner as their chairman.

According to County Clerk Daphne Fagan, Waggoner received 15 votes, and the other nominee, County Mayor Joe Boyd Liggett, received three.

Anna Childress was chosen as Chairman Pro Tem. She will be called upon to chair the meeting if the chairman is absent or has to step down for any reason.

Waggoner was also named to the nominating committee, and the other members are Dean Delk, E.W. Hill, Seth Warf, and Phil Willis.

A budget committee was not chosen this week, so at the public hearing for the budget at 4 p.m. Friday, there will be no official budget committee members present to answer questions.

The budget is printed in the Tribune again today, with the notice of the meeting, and the statement, "All interested citizens, commissioners and county officials are urged to be present."

The county commission will hold another special called meeting at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 10, for the purpose of appointing committee members.

Waggoner was also commission chairman in 2011-2012. He is a Realtor, and a captain with the Nashville Fire Department. Waggoner attended Battle Ground Academy and graduated from Tennessee Tech in 1981.