LMS holds first ever Dinner of Champions

Friday, November 14, 2014

By Karen Hall


A very special party was held in the cafeteria at Lewisburg Middle School the evening of Wednesday, Nov. 5.

The program called it "Dinner of Champions," and the guests of honor were the players, cheerleaders and managers of all three of the county's middle school football teams. All three teams had winning seasons, with a combined record of 24-2, and won two championships and one reserve championship.

Local industry CKNA -- represented at the dinner by Roger Murphy and Ken Lilly (also a school board member) -- were pleased to sponsor the event.

"I'd like to congratulate all three schools for such a great season," said Lilly. "How many of you thought in August you would be here tonight?

LMS Assistant Principal Angie Phifer echoed Lilly's congratulations, saying, "It's very rare for all three middle schools to have such great seasons!"

The head coaches were each invited to say a few words.

"I'm glad we're sending some boys to high school who have had success at this level," said Cornersville's Ray Stocstill. "They're great kids. I hated to see it end. They're to be commended."

"We got beat in the championship game," said Bart Joyce from Forrest. "Five guys got individual superlatives. It's been a good year. I'm proud of everybody."

"It's good to see the county do so well," said LMS' Elliot Cook. "We wanted to prove everybody wrong and with the championship. If you put your mind to it you can achieve great things. It's a joy to be around" these players.

"Thank you for giving us the honor of your presence here tonight," said Hubbell. "I like to hang around with winners, and I can go home tonight and say, 'I hung around with winners.'"

The Cornersville Bulldogs had an 8-0 season and are the Frog Bottom Bowl Champions. The assistant coaches are Joe Graham, Don Haislip, and Hayden McMahon, and the cheer sponsors are Penny Finley and Carla Caldwell.

The Forrest Rockets were runners-up in the Duck River Valley Conference with an 8-1 record. The assistant coaches are John Harmon and Josh Roberson. The cheerleader sponsor is Robby Joyce. The players who made the All Conference Team were Wesley McCoy, Dowlen Hosford, Nick McClendon, Carter Housch, and Pryor Haynes.

LMS also had an 8-1 record, and are the Big South Conference Champions. Beau Hardison, Jeff Morton, Seth Isley and Tony Johnson are the assistant coaches and Kara Heiser is the cheerleader sponsor. The players who made the All Conference Team were Wesley Walker, Hunter Lancaster, KJ Johnson, and Jayson Wilcox.

Congratulations to all, and may you have many more successes -- on and off the playing field!