First Commerce wins Forrest Alumni Tournament

Wednesday, August 5, 2015
The winners from left are, David Delk, Alumni Golf Tournament Chairman Stacey Cothran, Greg Hill, TJ Tipps, Rickey Sweeney and Forrest Alumni Association president David Ghee. Photos by Beth Chunn

The Forrest Alumni Scholarship Golf Tournament came down to the closest finish in the history of the event on Friday when the First Commerce Bank Team of David Delk, Rickey Sweeney, TJ Tipps and Greg Hill won on a match of cards to unseat the defending champions from First State Bank.

First State's squad of Matt Morehead, Brian Holcomb, Ryan Sweeney and Jacob Daughrity matched the winning score of 13-under-par 59, but an incredible back nine of 29 by First Commerce broke the tie.

Fourteen birdies is usually good enough to win, but not for First State Bank as First Commerce eagled three of the par-5 holes on the Saddle Creek Golf Course, while adding seven birdies.

Alumni Golf Tournament Chairman Stacey Cothran, Ryan Sweeny, Jacob Daughrity, Matt Morehead, Forrest Alumni Association president David Ghee and Brian Holcomb pose for the second place spot.

In third place one shot back was the Horton team of Ronnie Horton, Dena Horton, Carl Cooper and Frank Osteen.

The Walls Team of Stephen Walls, Nate Conley, Phillip Daughrity and Randy Daughrity finished fourth with 61.


Alumni Golf Tournament Chairman Stacey Cothran, Dena Horton, Carl Cooper, Frank Osteen, Ronnie Horton and Forrest Alumni Association David Ghee are all smile for the third place Horton Team.

Stacey Cothran won the closest to the pin award on the par-3 fifth hole and made several long putts on the day to lead her team that included Barbara Woods, Terry Harrison and Anthony S. Puca to a round of 62.

Also with a 62 was the Zimmerle team of Dan Zimmerle, Andrew Zimmerle, John Shand and Bob Prejean.

Johnny Rickman, Jimmy Rickman, Dean Delk and Danny Blalock carded 63, Randy Perryman, Johnny Calvert, Dave Beckman and Corey Beckman shot 66, Harold Jones, Rusty Jones, Darnell Fulton and Jimmy Purdom fired 68, Mike Morehead, Joel Pope, Perry Piper and Britt Elmore shot 70 along with the team of Mark Graves, Jackie King, Jack King and Rodney King0.

TJ Tipps easily outdistanced the field to win the longest drive prize.

Tipps hit a bomb on the 18th hole to take long drive honors.