Lady Rocket duo advances to region

Friday, October 2, 2015
Dani Hoeft shot 98 to win fifth medalist honors and a spot in the Region Tournament. Photos by Anthony S. Puca

Dani Hoeft and Micah Toombs represented Forrest at the Region 5A-AA tournament yesterday after the Lady Rockets' duo earned a pair of individual qualifying spots at the District 9A-AA Tournament on Monday.

Hoeft shot 98 and Toombs carded a 110 for 18 holes at the 5,442 yard Champions Run Golf Course in Rockvale.


Micah Toombs carded a 110 at Champions Run, good enough for the fourth individual qualifying spot at the Region Tournament.

Host Eagleville won the district title, shooting a team score 194.

Taylor Turnage led the Lady Eagles with a 92 and Karah Snell shot 102.

White House Heritage was two shots back at 196 and Greenbrier finished in third place with a 200 aggregate score.

Hawken King had the best score for Forrest, shooting an 88 at the District 9A-AA Tournament on Monday.

Medalist honors went to Mallory Anderson (Cheatham County-80), Brooklyn Spicer (WHH-81), Turnage (92), Chelsea Busby (Greenbrier-94) and Hoeft (98).

Anderson, Hoeft, Brianna Woosley (Moore County-108), Toombs (110) and Emily Powell (Moore County (114) were the individual qualifiers not on the three top teams.


Greenbrier won the boys district title with a 324 team score, White House Heritage shot 338 for second place and Cheatham County finished third with a 340.

Greenbrier's Pete Jenson led the Bobcats, shooting a 2-over par 74, while Colby Bolton had 78, Lane Hooper shot 80 and Grant Colbert rounded the winners' total with a 92.

Forrest shot a team score of 392 with Hawken King shooting 88, Tim Elliot 94, Robert Garcia 102 and Jarvis Lyttle 108.

Other Forrest individual scores were Landon Jones (120) and Katey Harmon 157.

Jenson won the top medalist honors after birdying the first playoff hole versus Trey Lashlee from Middle Tennessee Christian School, who also had a 74.

Bolton (78) was third, Hooper (80) fourth and Cage Ellis (WHH-81) was fifth medalist.

Lashlee, Torey Fusco (Eagleville-81), Steven Turnham (MTCS-83), Grayson Garrett (Community-86) and Jake Jarvis (White House-86) made the region as individual qualifiers.