Sweeney, Wild named TSWA All-State

Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Boone Sweeney poses in the Tennessee Titans locker room after receiving the Class 2A Mr. Football Lineman of the Year Award. Photos by Anthony S. Puca

Forrest's Boone Sweeny and Slayton Wild were named to the Tennessee Sportswriters Association's all-state squad on Wednesday.

Sweeney, the 2015-2016 Tennessee Titans Class 2A Mr. Football Lineman of the Year, was selected as a defensive lineman on the squad and is making his second appearance on the all-state team.

Wild was selected as an athlete on the TSWA team and it is a fitting choice as the junior played multiple positions for the Rockets this season, lining up at tight end, running back, linebacker and he returned punts and kicks for Forrest.

Class 1A


Quarterback: Dresser Winn, Dresden; Preston Rice, Wayne County

Running back: Stavonski Wilkes, Lake County; Dylan Yates, Dresden

Wide receiver: Taylor Thompson, Columbia Academy; Roderious Sanders, Carver; Wyatt Mabry, Clay County

Offensive line: Treyton Peters, Harriman; Jacob Stinnett, Coalfield; Robert Brantley, Nashville Christian; John Langley, Harriman; Spencer Norrod, Monterey

Athlete: Chase Blevins, South Pittsburg; Mareio McGraw, Nashville Christian

Kicker: Thomas Garrison, Columbia Academy


Defensive line: Josh Silvey, Greenback; Zay Norman, Trenton Peabody; Brant Lawless, Nashville Christian; Greg Hughes, Houston County

Linebacker: Blake Hall, Coalfield; Daniel Bituli, Nashville Christian; Jamison Blackwell, Union City; Jaden Harris, Greenback

Defensive back: D'Carrious Stephens, Union City; Trey Hickey, Middle Tennessee Christian; Anthony Foster, Carver; Brice Williams, Dresden

Athlete: Kayne Roberts, Greenback; Joe Pace, Harriman

Slayton Wild scoops up a fumble and returns it for a touchdown at East Robertson.

Punter: Nash Lay, Oneida

Class 2A


Quarterback: Darius Harper, Austin-East; Andrew Goldsmith, Trinity Christian

Running back: Cordarrian Richardson, Trezevant; Jerry Lunsford, Hampton

Wide receiver: Kashif Warren Jr., Austin-East; Tyrese Johnson, Halls; Graham Hatcher, Eagleville

Offensive line: Logan Campbell, Marion County; Bailey Byrum, Sweetwater; Benjie Smith, Adamsville; Dylan Todd, Grace Christian; Jacob Wilson, Rockwood

Athlete: Coby Jones, Hampton; Slayton Wild, Forrest

Kicker: Christian Stephens, Marion County


Defensive line: Boone Sweeney, Forrest; Amadou Fofans, Mitchell; Jack Keebler, Boyd Buchanan; Sergio Pagoaga, Trinity Christian

Linebacker: Alex Kirkendoll, Marion County; Justin Swift, Trezevant; Jake Harden, Boyd Buchanan; Shannon Spralls, Tyner

Defensive back: Jonathan Gatewood, Trezevant; Kohl Henke, Boyd Buchanan; Cameron Oakley, McKenzie; Wade Sluss, Grace Christian

Athlete: Josh Henderson, Marion County; Luke Turner, Watertown

Punter: Trent Sutton, Cascade