Posey, Crutcher selected to Sportswriters All-State squad

Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Ashton Posey capped off a spectacular senior season at Marshall County High School with his selection to the 2015-2016 Tennessee Sportswriters All-State squad. Photos by Anthony S. Puca

Marshall County High School quarterback Ashton Posey and wide receiver Tre Crutcher were selected to the 2015-2016 Tennessee Sportswriters Class 4A All-State squad on Wednesday.

Posey, a finalist for the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football award, passed for 3,215 yards and 28 TD in a season that saw the Tigers (12-2) reach the semifinals of the TSSAA post-season playoffs.

Posey averaged 229.6 yards per game with 334 pass attempts and only nine interceptions on the season.

Crutcher was Posey's favorite target through the air, accumulating 1,181 yards on 66 receptions and 14 touchdowns. He averaged 17.9 per catch and 107.4 yards per game.

Tre Crutcher, seen here hauling in a long bomb versus Spring Hill, cemented his spot on the TSWA All-State squad with 1,181 yards on 66 receptions and 14 touchdowns.

Class 4A


QB: Ashton Posey, Marshall County

QB: Chase Cunningham, Catholic

RB: Desmond Dabbs, Greeneville

RB: Dylan Linder, Livingston Academy

WR: Rontavius Groves, Pearl-Cohn

WR: Amari Rodgers, Catholic

WR: Tre Crutcher, Marshall County

OL: Cade Mays, Catholic

OL: Sam Jackson, Lipscomb Academy

OL: Jaelin Fisher, Peal-Cohn

OL: Bryson Knight, Greeneville

OL: Brody Gregory, Hixson

ATH: Jimmy Ferrell, Pearl-Cohn

ATH: Devante Turner, Memphis East

K: Ryan Courtright, Lexington


DL: Emmit Gooden, Haywood

DL: Rutger Reitmaier, Lipscomb Academy

DL: Matthew Gayle, Fulton

DL: Austin Rowan, Catholic

LB: Darron Johnson, Ridgeway

LB: Tariqious Tisdale, Lexington

LB: Markevous McKinnie, Jackson North Side

LB: Rondrow Peebles, Knoxville Central

DB: Kentel Williams, Fulton

DB: Frankie Campo, East Hamilton

DB: Nick Godwin, Hardin County

DB: Teddrick McGhee, Memphis East

ATH: Chase Kuerschen, Catholic

ATH: Chaton Mobley, Fulton

P: Brent Cimaglia, Page

Class 3A


QB: Zack Weatherly, CPA

QB: Cole Smith, CAK

RB: Traneil Moore, East Ridge

RB: Noah Whaley, Pigeon Forge

WR: Phillip Nichols, CAK

WR: Ben Guffey, Upperman

WR: Rodney Castille, Liberty

OL: Pete Sexton, East Ridge

OL: Robert Murphy, Notre Dame

OL: Ben Buchanan, CAK

OL: Jacob Rimmer, Milan

OL: Caleb Stephens, White House Heritage

ATH: Deshawn Brown, Camden

ATH: Steven Jennings, DeKalb County

K: Ben Smith, Alcoa


DL: Matthew McClurg, Alcoa

DL: Jonathan Decker, Alcoa

DL: Tre Stamper, Red Bank

DL: Kahlil Jones, Stratford

LB: Tyler Enos, Notre Dame

LB: Christian Williams, Milan

LB: Dantae Wilkes, Liberty

LB: Preston Whitehead, Elizabethton

DB: Jesse Jones, East Ridge

DB: Caleb Woody, Alcoa

DB: Ricky Ballard, Notre Dame

DB: Price Perdue, CPA

ATH: Dustin Clabough, Alcoa

ATH: Chip Omer, CPA

P: Alex Darrus, Notre Dame

Class 6A


QB: Cole Copeland, Bradley Central

QB: Dylan Hopkins, Maryville

RB: Taeler Dowdy, Blackman

RB: Vic Johnson, Cookeville

WR: Kelby Brock, Maryville

WR: Dillon Mitchell, White Station

WR: Ikenna Okeke, Smyrna

OL: Devin Salter, Whitehaven

OL: Kalani Smith, Mt. Juliet

OL: Hudson Smith, Oakland

OL: Matthew Leifheit, Blackman

OL: Lakin McCall, Maryville

ATH: Chris Rowland, Ravenwood

ATH: Gabe Angel, Cookeville

K: Crews Holt, Ravenwood


DL: Ty Nix, Oakland

DL: Jordan Moore, Ravenwood

DL: Korey Tillman, Blackman

DL: Matt Young, Maryville

LB: Jackson Cauthen, Oakland

LB: Bryson Tolley, Science Hill

LB: T.D. Blackmon, Maryville

LB: John Thompson, Ravenwood

DB: Isaac Aguero, Hardin Valley

DB: Blake Taylor, Blackman

DB: Ian Cleveland, Smyrna

DB: Donte Vaughn, Whitehaven

ATH: JaCoby Stevens, Oakland

ATH: Andrew Lutgens, Ravenwood

P: Jacob Smith, Siegel

Class 5A


QB: Deuce Wallace, Sevier County

QB: Andrew Bunch, Independence

RB: Tanner Thomas, Farragut

RB: DeAndre Delaney, Morristown West

WR: Tee Higgins, Oak Ridge

WR: Nate Johnson, Independence

WR: Devante Matthews, Sevier County

OL: Nate Wilkinson, Centennial

OL: Jonathan Timmons, Southwind

OL: Pete Dorsten, Independence

OL: Jordan Seal, Morristown East

OL: Eli Katina, Centennial

ATH: Tyler Thackerson, Clinton

ATH: Jerry Craine, Wooddale

K: Carter Phillipy, Farragut


DL: Gunner Osbron, Henry County

DL: Cole Strange, Farragut

DL: Chris Beavers, Independence

DL: Malcom Swann, Hillsboro

LB: J.D. Griffin, Sevier County

LB: Jeremiah Jackson, Ooltewah

LB: Zack Camp, Brighton

LB: Tyler Pendleton, Rhea County

DB: Justin Kirkendall, Farragut

DB: Rashun Freeman, Ooltewah

DB: Calvin Smith, Morristown West

DB: Cole Huner, Independence

ATH: Maleik Gray, La Vergne

ATH: Tyrel Dodson, Centennial

P: Brandon Nickle, Oak Ridge