Candidates sign on for August 4 election

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

The Marshall County General Election will see only two contested races this year.

The August 4 ballot contains school board and assessor races for Marshall County, aldermen seats in Chapel Hill and Petersburg, and party primaries for the Tennessee General Assembly and United States House of Representatives.

Five seats on the Marshall County School Board will be on the ballot.

In District 2, school board member Harvey Jones faces a challenge from Rocky Bowden, a former county commissioner from District 2. Likewise, in District 4, Sheryl McClintock will be challenged by Andy Woodard.

District 8 board member Ken Lilly did not file for re-election. Robert Warf is unopposed for that seat.

Incumbents John Dippold from District 1 and Susan Hunter of District 7 are unopposed in their races.

Incumbent Michelle Campbell is unopposed for another four-year term as county Assessor of Property.

Nothing will be changing in Chapel Hill. The three serving aldermen, Horace Hill, Marion Joyce, and Dorothy Morton, are running unopposed to retain their seats.

Petersburg is a very different story. Three alderman seats are available and none of the incumbents -- Phil Bolander, James Burns, and Linda Cagle-- have filed for the race. Bolander currently serves as mayor as well.

James Owen is the only candidate who has qualified for the race. Owen served as the mayor and interim police chief in Petersburg until stepping down on the advice of his physician in November 2014.

There are three state primary races on the August ballot as well.

In the Tennessee Senate District 14 race, incumbent Republican Jim Tracy faces two other Republican challengers: Steve Lane of Murfreesboro and Matt Randolph of Ardmore. Gayle Jordan of Murfreesboro is running unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Billy Spivey, incumbent State Representative, will face a challenge in the Republican primary from Rick Tillis. Tamra King of Chapel Hill is the Democratic candidate for the District 92 seat.

In the United States House primaries, Scott Desjarlais will face three other Republicans in the primary race for his District 4 seat. Steven Reynolds of Murfreesboro is running unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Candidates have until April 14 to withdraw from the race. Write-in candidates must declare their intent with the Marshall County Election Commission by noon, June 15.