J.R. Moon golf tourney winners

Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Championship Flight Winners 1st place-Team Shoney's-Bob Tucker, Will Cain, Dan Holt and Tyler Tillman. Photos submitted

Columbia State Community College hosted the Rogers Group, Inc. 20th Annual J.R. Moon Golf Classic June 9 at the Saddle Creek Golf Club in Lewisburg.

"Last year the Annual J.R. Moon Golf Classic raised over $13,000 dollars and we expect the same this year," said Bethany Lay, Columbia State executive for advancement and foundation director. "It was extra special celebrating 20 years of a community coming together to support higher education."

Twenty-seven teams, comprised of 106 golfers turned out for the tournament, which included putting and "Beat the Pro" contests. Many sponsors and donors showed their support, including Rogers Group Inc., title sponsor; First National Bank, lunch sponsor; First Farmers and Merchants Bank, putting contest sponsor; Roberts Toyota, hole-in-one contest sponsor; First Commerce Bank, player gift bag sponsor; and Lewisburg Printing, "Beat the Pro" contest sponsor. Other sponsors included Saddle Creek Gold Club and Brother's Fine Foods.

Championship Flight 2nd place-Team First Commerce Bank-Joey Moorefield, Eddie Wiles, Wayne Wolfe and Jeff Whitmore.

The proceeds from this golf tournament benefit Marshall County students through scholarships and support of the Columbia State Lewisburg Campus.

Championship Flight 3rd place-Team Town of Chapel Hill-Joe Liggett, Anthony Puca, Dean Delk and Tate Lowery.
First Flight Winners 1st place-Team Loomis-Dan Denton, Jr., Dan Denton, Barry Bruston and Jeff Tomey.
First Flight 2nd place-Team First Farmers and Merchants Bank-Mason Sellers, Bill Fletcher, Shelby White and Barry White.
First Flight 3rd place-Team Blue Creek-Tommy Harrison, JJ Johnson and David McDow.
Second Flight Winners 1st place-Team Hawk Converting-Robert Heithous, David Lake, Bill Womble, and Ron Dunaway.
Second Flight 2nd place-Team First Nichirin TN-Katsushi Fujitani, Chris McCormack Scott Deyermeyer and Hideki Nakayasu.
Second Flight 3rd place-Team Burger King-Con Vrailas, Don Anderson, Ray Turner and Steve Burnard.