Two Rockets, Bulldog named TBCA All-State

Friday, July 22, 2016
Incoming Vanderbilt freshman and Forrest graduate Alex Brewer picked up another high school honor when he was recently named to the 2016 Tennessee Baseball Coaches Association all-state team. The three-time District 9A MVP and 2016 Class A Mr. Baseball had 38 hits, 16 RBI, five homeruns, 11 doubles, three triples, 42 runs scored and walked 29 times for the Rockets in his final year at Chapel Hill. Tribune Photo by Anthony S. Puca

The Tennessee Baseball Coaches Association announced its 2016 all-state teams Monday. They are comprised of the following players:

Class A -- Alex Brewer, INF, Forrest; Kyle Davidson, INF, Community; Graham Duke, INF/P, Cornersville; Xavier Fuller, OF, Middle College; Bryce Giles, INF, Summertown; Carter Holt, P, Jackson Chr.; Miles Humphrey, INF/P, Jackson Chr.; Brandon Kelley, OF, Eagleville; Junior Kimmel, INF/P, Scotts Hill; Jacob Laws, INF, Loretto; Scott Lentz, OF/P, Columbia Acad.; Kendrick Malone, P, Peabody; Luke Murphy, INF/P, East Robertson; Bobby Parliament, INF/P, Gordonsville; Seth Price, INF, Watertown; Evan Russell, INF/P, Scotts Hill; Justin Shaw, OF, Knoxville Grace; Ryan Weathers, UTIL, Loretto; Micah Wheeler, INF, Knoxville Grace; Ryan Yelensky, P, Forrest.

Class AA -- Bailey Baker, UTIL, Sycamore; Tanner Barkley, P, Chuckey-Doak; David Bates, P, Christ Presbyterian Acad.; Lincoln Bowman, P, Greeneville; Phillip Clarke, C, Christ Presbyterian Acad.; Wes Duffield, INF, Murfreesboro Central; Gage Gillian, P, Spring Hill; Bill Hamilton, INF, Montgomery Central; Lane Harris, OF, Christ Presbyterian Acad.; Cody Hartness, INF, Greeneville; Mason Holder, OF, Milan; Jordan Jackson, OF, Murfreesboro Central; Zach King, P, Spring Hill; Cooper Mays, C, Hickman Co.; Chauncy Scott, OF, Stratford; Noah Sims, P, Sycamore; Spencer Strider, P, Christian Acad. of Knoxville; Brycen Thomas, DH/P, Spring Hill; Curtis Wall, INF, Covington; Turner Whaley, OF, Pigeon Forge; Sam Williams, INF, Ripley; Peyton Wigginton, OF/P, Page.

Forrest graduate Ryan Yelensky, the District 9A Co-Pitcher of the Year was named to the TBCA all-state team.

Class AAA -- Aaron Brown, P, Mt. Juliet; Trey Carter, OF, Soddy Daisy; Wil Dalton, OF, Summit; Hayden Edwards, P, Arlington; Bryson Ford, INF, Bearden; Hunter Goodman, C, Arlington; Deric Graham, C, Tennessee; Ryder Green, UTIL, Hardin Valley; Will Heflin, OF/P, Morristown West; Cody Hutcherson, OF, Cookeville; Jacob Key, P, Siegel; Zach Linginfelter, INF/P, Sevier Co.; Devante Matthews, P, Sevier Co.; Chris McElvain, P, Summit; Dylan Pacifico, P, Farragut; Duncan Pence, INF, Farragut; Austin Steel, INF/P, Stewarts Creek; Brandon Thompson, P, Bradley Central; Ladarius Williams, INF, Brighton.

Division II: Weston Bizzle, P, Christian Bros.; J.L. Bland, INF, Christian Bros.; Ben Brooks, INF, Pope John Paul II; Corbin Brooksbank, OF, McCallie; Logan Carey, OF, Univ. School of Jackson; Jake Criswell, OF, Harding Acad.; Hugh Fisher, P, Briarcrest; Alex Harris, INF, Davidson Acad.; Mason Hickman, P, Pope John Paul II; Hayden Leatherwood, OF, Christian Bros.; Rudy Maxwell, C, Ensworth; Carson McKoon, P, McCallie; Corey Mitson, OF/P, Tipton-Rosemark Acad.; Brock Myers, P, Davidson Acad.; Stokes Needham, OF, Knoxville Webb; Ryan Rolison, P, Univ. School of Jackson; Nathan Ruble, P, Harding Acad.; Connor Shamblin, OF/P, Briarcrest; Jared Shemper, P, Christian Bros.; Quinn Smith, C, McCallie; Steven Ton, P, McCallie.

Cornersville's Graham Duke had an outstanding year for the Bulldogs and was named to the TBCA all-team.