Rocket Run

Friday, August 19, 2016
The entrants for the Rocket Rally Run pose for a group photo at Murrey E. Holton Field before the start of the race. Photos by Anthony S. Puca

The Chapel Hill Touchdown Association's 5k Rocket Rally Run commenced for the second year at Chapel Hill on Saturday with unusually cool morning weather and it helped all the runners make it to the finish line.

Forrest's Ryley McClaran won the race with a time of 21:07, Barry Hill won the men's division with a 24:09, Rachel Reasonover took the women's title with a 34:25 and Diane Barnes won the senior division with a time of 34:25.

Twenty-years and under honorable mention went to Jaedyn Stalnecker 23:22 and Zoe Long (24:22).

The Rocket Rally 5K winners from left are, Diane Barnes, Rachel Reasonover, Barry Hill, Ryley McClaran and race director David Delk.

Forrest principal Davy McClaran (37:23) won the principals challenge, beating CHES principal Dawn Kirby (47:33).

The Touchdown Association would like to thank sponsors Rex's Foodland for the popsicles and Henry Horton Stater Park for the use of the race clock.

Zoe Long ran a 24:22 time at the Chapel Hill Touchdown Association's Rocket Rally Run on Saturday.
Jennifer Daughrity (left) and Tara Stacey come to the finish line at the Rocket Rally 5k Run.