MCHS hoops ready for Alumni game

Wednesday, October 19, 2016
2009 Class AA Miss Basketball Lauren March (24) will be back on the court Saturday when the Tigerettes face off with Giles County in the alumni tournament at Dottie E. Kelso Memorial Gymnasium. Tribune file photos by Anthony S. Puca

The Marshall County High School Tigers and Tigerettes are coming back, not in one of their historic late game comebacks, but back to Dottie E. Kelso Memorial Gymnasium on Saturday for a trio of alumni basketball games to help raise funds for the boys' hoops program.

"Going to the state tournament last year took a lot out of the account and we needed to find a way to build it back up," MCHS coach Arnett Bodenhamer said. "Also, I was thinking of a way to get the former players back in the building, so I thought this would be a great way to get them here with a basketball game against our rivals."

The event will consist of three games with the Tigers taking on Columbia Central in the opener at 3:30 p.m., followed by the Tigerettes versus Giles County at 4:45 and the finale will pit the Tigers versus their archrival Bobcats from Pulaski at 6 p.m.

"I don't know if it's ever happened before me, but I do know the alumni are very excited about the event," Bodenhamer said. "I'm very excited about seeing the players come back to play their rivals. I believe all three games will be very competitive."

The rosters for the event are loaded with past stars, including 2009 Class AA Miss Basketball Lauren March for the Tigerettes.

Joining March from the 2008-2009 team that claimed the Tigerettes' fourth state title are Artavia Bryant, DaRhonda and LaRhonda O'Neal and Danika "The Glove" Hopkins.

Chris Mason and Montrai Alred from the 2002 Tigers' squad that finished as runners-up will be suiting up along with Shay Shannon and Justin Morris from the Giles County 2003 state championship team.

Just a few other players from the Tigerettes that will be playing are Nicky Randolph, Holly Cook, Lisa Ewing, Tijuana Davis and Shavonda Campbell.

Cameron McCullough's (23) class of 2009 team went 13-1 in District 10AA play and 25-8 overall as the Tigers made it all the way to the state sectionals before losing to Bolivar Central.

Some of the Tigers coming back for some more hoop action are Eric Johnson, Steve Jones, Cameron McCullough, Blaise Spencer, Hunter Osborne, Jamie Perryman, Barry Mayes and Kevin Peterson.

"I wanted to find a way to get the alumni back in the building and involved with the program and I believe that just because you graduate doesn't mean you can't come back in the gym where you gave your blood, sweat and tears," Bodenhamer said. "My players need to see the player who came before them and who was a part of the Tiger pride, tradition and the winning ways in Dottie Kelso Gym."

"Everyone needs to come on out and enjoy some good basketball."

Doors will open at 3 p.m. for the event, admission is $6, there will be a DJ and concessions will feature fish sandwiches by Ricky Tears.



Eric Johnson 1990

Jerry Morris 1991

Brion Parks 1992

Steve Jones 1994

Chris Mason 2002

Montrai Alred 2004

Cameron McCullough 2009

Blaise Spencer 2009

Brandon Burns 2009

Hunter Osborne 2009

Jamie Perryman 2010

Jordan Anderson 2011

Tim Hutton 2012

Barry Mayes 2013

Kevin Peterson 2013

Cameron Bowers 2013

Corbin Clack 2013

Columbia Central Men

Quinn Goff 1992

Rico Alderson 1994

Hollis Hampton 1999

Fred Sparkman 2003

Jeremy Brown 2003

Wadale Williams 2003

Justin Bullock 2006

Dominique Sparks 2010

Giles County Men

Gary Loks 1991

Kyle Freeman 1991

Cedrick Orway 1994

Tracy Randolph 1994

Autney Reynolds 1994

Nick Simmons 2000

Emmanuel Garret 2000

Shay Shannon 2004

Justin Morris 2004

Channing Coffey 2005

Deron Garret 2006

Dominque Harney 2009

Darius Gardner 2011

Levar Johnson 2011

Lake Jones 2012

Kadijon Townsend 2012

Chris Bledsoe 2012

Marshall County Women

Holly Cook 2001

Kari Campbell 1999

DaRhonda O'Neal 2010

LaRhonda O'Neal 2010

Lisa Ewing 1989

Nicky Randolph 1996

Mikita Gilbert 1995

Shavonda Campbell 1992

Artavia Bryant 2010

Lauren March 2009

Danika Hopkins 2008

Sheena O'Neal 2000

Sonya Cothran 1989

Angie Maxwell 1996

Shakira Sparrow 2000

Tijuana Davis 1989

Delorean Taylor 2011

Giles County Women

Leah Smith Malone

Deina Willingham Dixon

Kendall Greene

Rosie Gordon Wallace

Paige Howard

Sameca Coleman Joyner

Kamry Coffee

Hope Garrett

Adison Gowan

Taylor Wade Chapman

Melissa Bottoms Harper

Keneisha Love

Robin Leslie