3 locals named TSWA All-State

Sunday, January 8, 2017
Cain McWilliams, who played one season for the Tigers after transferring from Lincoln County added to his post-season honors when he was named to the TSWA 4A All-State defensive team. Tribune Photos by Anthony S. Puca

Marshall County High School's Cain McWilliams and Tre Crutcher, along with Forrest's Slayton Wild were recently named to the Tennessee Sportswriters Association's All-State football team.

McWilliams, who played just one season in Lewisburg after transferring from Lincoln County High School was a finalist for the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Class 4A Lineman of the Year Award.

McWilliams had an incredible senior season for the Tigers, who posted a 12-2 record and made it to the Class 4A semifinals for the second consecutive year.

On offense, McWilliams rushed for 360 yards and 11 touchdowns and excelled on the defensive side of the ball for MCHS, coming up with a team-leading 101 total tackles, including 71 solo take downs and 12 tackles in the backfield.

The Middle Tennessee State University commit had 15 sacks, came up with two fumble recoveries and scored on a blocked punt for the Tigers' defense that surrendered a measly 10.6 points per game.

Marshall County wide receiver Tre Crutcher capped off a spectacular senior season for the Tigers with a spot on the TSWA 4A All-State team for the second consecutive year.

Senior Tiger wide out Tre Crutcher posted big numbers to earn a spot on the 4A All-State squad for the second consecutive season, accumulating 1,563 all-purpose yards for Marshall County, including 78 receptions for 1,175 yards and 14 touchdowns for an offense that averaged 42.9 points per game.

Crutcher had a one rushing attempted that went for a 59-yard touchdown and returned a punt and a kickoff for a touchdown to cap off a spectacular career at the wide receiver position.

Crutcher's 156 receptions, 2,529 receiving yards and 26 touchdowns have earned him college offers from Morehead State, Missouri Baptist and Georgetown College in Kentucky.

UT Martin and The University of North Alabama are also heating up in their interest in signing Crutcher.

Forrest's Slayton Wild, who recently committed to Wofford College, was named as a linebacker on the TSWA 2A All-State team for the second year in a row.

Forrest linebacker Slayton Wild, who was semifinalist for the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Class 2A Lineman of the Year was named to the all-state defensive team for the second season in a row.

Wild led a stingy Rockets defense that allowed 13.6 yards per game in a season that saw Forrest (11-2) win the Region 4A title for the second year in a row.

Wild, who was named to the TSWA All-State squad as an athlete on offense last year has committed to Wofford College in Spartanburg, South Carolina.

The versatile player toted the rock 104 times for the Rockets on offense, gaining 645 yards and scored six touchdowns.

Over his three-year career, Wild posted 1,625 rushing yards and scored 15 times, while catching 20 balls for 446 yards and 7 TD.

Wild also returned two kickoffs for touchdowns in his career.

Notable players left off the squad were Region 4/4A MVP JQ Haislip (DB), along with fellow Marshall County standouts Jay Howard (WR) and Kamron Liggett (RB), Forrest's Billy Clanton (LB) and Jacob Jones (RB) and the Cornersville backfield duo of Eli Woodard and Cameron Whittaker.

Class 2A


QB -- Darius Harper, Austin-East

QB -- Seth Price, Watertown

RB -- Caleb Johnson, MAHS

RB -- Cordarrian Richardson, Trezevant

WR -- Daisuan Whitfield, Waverly

WR -- Kashif Warren Jr., Austin-East

WR -- Dylan Street, Happy Valley

OL -- Logan Campbell, Marion County

OL -- Rusty Staats, Watertown

OL -- Antonio Nelson, Trezevant

OL -- Landon Morefield, Happy Valley

OL -- Dylan Hiefnar, Meigs County

ATH -- Montez Bradley, Waverly

K -- Eduard Hakizimana, Austin-East


DL -- Tracy Justice, Tyner

DL -- Tijuan Mason, Trezevant

DL -- Ismael Avila, Marion County

DL -- Terrance Neal, Mitchell

LB -- Alex Kirkendoll, Marion County

LB -- Hunter McClain, Marion County

LB -- Slayton Wild, Forrest

LB -- Joshua Reed, Trezevant

DB -- Jaylen Bowens, Tyner

DB -- Tyrese Johnson, Knox Halls

DB -- Isaiah Ligon, Austin-East

DB -- Aaron Swafford, Meigs County

ATH -- Hunter Zeman, Marion County

P -- Gabe Boring, Bledsoe County

Class 1A


QB -- Preston Rice, Wayne County

QB -- Dresser Winn, Dresden

RB -- Kayne Roberts, Greenback

RB -- Tucker Kennedy, Union City

WR -- Blaine Bevis, Wayne County

WR -- Austin Thomas, Dresden

WR -- Cade Kennemore, South Pittsburg

OL -- Mitchell Butner, South Pittsburg

OL -- Spencer Norrod, Monterey

OL -- Matt Fox, Columbia Academy

OL -- Dalton Meadows, Dresden

OL -- Preston Fesmire, Peabody

ATH -- Parker McKinney, Coalfield

K -- Hunter Keele, Fayetteville


DL -- Brant Lawless, Nashville Christian

DL -- Josh Silvey, Greenback

DL -- Tavin Kilpatrick, Greenback

DL -- Hunter Clark, Harriman

LB -- Sawyer Kelly, South Pittsburg

LB -- D.J. Taylor, Huntland

LB -- Noah Arnett, Cloudland

LB -- Jordan Mitchell, Dresden

DB -- Rush Lansdell, Columbia Academy

DB -- Austin Lowe, Coalfield

DB -- Joe Pace, Harriman

DB -- Hunter Willis, Greenback

ATH -- Dylan Yates, Dresden

P -- Nash Lay, Oneida

Class 4A


QB -- Chase Cunningham, Knoxville Catholic

QB -- Trey Mitchell, Knoxville Central

RB -- Timothy Taylor, Memphis East

RB -- Antwuan Branch, Kenwood

WR -- Amari Rodgers, Knoxville Catholic

WR -- Tre Crutcher, Marshall County

WR -- Zack Dobson, Fulton

OL -- Cade Mays, Knoxville Catholic

OL -- McClendon Curtis, Chattanooga Central

OL -- Evan Grooms, Greeneville

OL -- Brody Gregory, Hixson

OL -- John Wrister, Memphis East

ATH -- Jimmyrious Parker, Pearl-Cohn

K -- Jake McClure, East Hamilton


DL -- Isaac Buell, Knoxville Central

DL -- Timmarious Jefferson, Memphis East

DL -- LaTrell Bumphus, Hardin County

DL -- Rutger Reitmaier, Lipscomb Academy

LB -- Cain McWilliams, Marshall County

LB -- Brayden Devault-Smith, Pearl-Cohn

LB -- Jadarius Sackie, Knoxville Central

LB -- Chaton Mobley, Fulton

DB -- Rondrow Peebles, Knoxville Central

DB -- William Phillips, Lipscomb Academy

DB -- Takeem Young, Greeneville

DB -- Joseph Newberry, Ridgeway

ATH -- Chase Kuerschen, Knoxville Catholic

P -- Brent Cimaglia, Page