‘Mr. Football’ winners named

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Nashville, Tennessee, November 27, 2017 – Tennessee’s best high school football players for 2017 were recognized at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards luncheon hosted by the Tennessee Titans.

More than 400 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended the 2017 luncheon at Nissan Stadium.

“This is such an outstanding honor for all 30 of the young men recognized today at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards,” said Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA. “They were here not only due to their athletic ability that they displayed on the field throughout the season, but just as much for their outstanding character and academic achievements.”

High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2017 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the eight classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. The top kickers in the state were also recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school’s classification.

The Titans became sponsors of the Mr. Football Awards in 2007.


Division I, Class 1A

Parker McKinney, Coalfield

Division I, Class 2A

Gavin Stanfield, Waverly Central

Division I, Class 3A

Kalyn Grandberry, Raleigh Egypt

Division I, Class 4A

Cade Ballard, Greeneville

Division I, Class 5A

Cade Mays, Knoxville Catholic

Division I, Class 6A

Savion Davis, Riverdale

Division II, Class A

Brant Lawless, Nashville Christian

Division II, Class AA

Eric Gray, Lausanne

Division II, Class AAA

Bill Norton, Christian Brothers


Gabe Boring, Bledsoe County