Elks Hoop Shoot winners

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

On November 4th the Marshall County Elks Lodge 1990 held its annual Elks Hoop Shoot at the Lewisburg Recreation Center.

Winners are:

8-9 year old girls

1st Abbigail Tenpenny

2nd Clarissa Scheetz

10-11 year old girls

1st Cassidy Baus

2nd Kira Beach

12-13 year old girls

1st Camille Finch

2nd Alyssa Scheetz

8-9 year old boys

1st Jackson Hery

2nd Wyatt Jett

10-11 year old boys

1st Lucas Hery

2nd Cooper Jackson

12-13 year old boys

1st Carter Neat

2nd Bradden Hickman

The first place winners went to Lawrenceburg on December 9th for the district Elks Hoop Shoot. They will be shooting against shooters from Nashville, Fayetteville, Columbia, Pulaski, Lawrenceburg and Gallatin.

The Elks National Hoop Shoot Free Throw program is America’s largest non-commercial coeducational sports program.

It offers girls and boys ages 8 to 13 an opportunity for character and skill development in athletic competition.

The winner of the District Elks Hoop Shoot will be going to Franklin for the state shoot off. They will be put up in a room for Friday and Saturday night at no cost. The Elks Hoop Shoot is all free.

The Elks goal is to give all kids without regard to race, color or creed a chance to participate and compete at no cost to them.

Kenneth Walker would like to thank the parents who brought their kids and help to put on the Elks Hoop Shoot. He would also like to thank the Lewisburg Recreation Center for their help. The Elks Hoop Shoot will be held on the first Saturday in November every year.