Elks celebrate sesquicentennial

Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Seated left to right: Patty Parsons, 8th District County Commissioner, Joe Boyd Liggett, County Mayor, and Wesley Neece, 5th District County Commissioner. Standing left to right: Dennis Misiak, Lecturing Knight, Claude Lee, PER, State Treasurer, Elinor Foster, Esquire, Carol Henderson, Secretary, Wanda Potts, Treasurer, and Billy Brashears, PER.
Tribune photo by Scott Pearson

Marshall County Mayor Joe Boyd Liggett proclaimed February 16th “Elks Day”, the date of the 150th anniversary of the establishment of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.

The Elks were founded on February 16, 1867, by Charles Algernon Sidney Vivian. The Order has spread across the country with 7,000 Elks members and 29 lodges in the State of Tennessee. Lewisburg Elks Lodge currently has 327 members.

The Elks are dedicated to charity, justice and patriotism and have invested million of hours each year to build stronger communities, assist veterans and ensure children steer away from drugs.

Lewisburg Elks Lodge has contributed to the community through nursing scholarships, veterans, hoop shoot programs, charitable golf tournaments, charitable Jeep rides, drug awareness programs, trade scholarships and underprivileged children’s Christmas.

The Elks are steadfast in their commitment to honoring and serving the veterans. The Elks rank among the largest private providers of scholarships for students with millions of dollars donated annually by Elks members and awarded to thousands of students as they pursue their dreams to become our nation’s future leaders.