Local candidates begin to declare

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

With the county and its municipalities voting this year on their leadership for the next four years, rumors have made the rounds for months on who might be throwing their hat into the ring and running for office.

Potential candidates began picking up materials to qualify for the election on Jan. 5.

While there is still plenty of time for additional candidates to file, two county races are already sure to be contested.

Lewisburg’s Mike Keny has submitted his paperwork for the office of county mayor, and current Chapel Hill Mayor Danny Bingham has told the Tribune that he will be filing his paperwork to qualify for the mayor’s race within the next week.

Circuit Court Clerk Courtney Boatright will be challenged for her seat by Mike Wiles, the director of the county’s Joint Economic and Community Development Board.

Several other incumbents have officially filed to continue in office.

State Representative Rick Tillis, who represents the 92nd District in the General Assembly, officially launched his re-election campaign last week.

Sheriff Billy Lamb, County Clerk Daphne Fagan-Girts, Register of Deeds Dorris Wayne Weaver, and Superintendent of Roads Jerry Williams have all submitted their paperwork to run for another term.

Scottie Poarch will run for a full term as County Trustee after winning a special election to fill the remaining term of former trustee Marilyn Irvin, who retired.

Current County Commissioners Glen White, Joseph Warner, E.W. Hill, and Patty Parsons have also filed to run again for their seats representing the county.

Sevral individuals for a variety of rcaes on the ballot have picked up gualifying packets for the Marshall County Election Office but have not yet returned their petitions, confirming their entry.

The deadline to enter either the August or December races is on April 5.