County elections on the horizon

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

While Marshall County has already seen one primary election so far this year, the political season here is really just getting underway.

The highlight of local politics for 2018 is the county general election on Aug. 2.

Marshall County voters disappointed by the single race on the ballot in the special election for the 14th Senate District will have plenty of races to choose from then.

All 18 seats on the county commission are up for re-election, along with the county’s other elected offices, except for property assessor which appeared on the 2016 ballot.

County mayor, Marshall County Sheriff, county clerk, circuit court clerk, register of deeds, trustee, and superintendent of roads will all appear on the August ballot.

Additionally, this year sees elections for Lewisburg city offices as well.

Traditionally held in odd numbered years, the city council voted last year to move to the same schedule as the county elections as a cost saving measure.

With few races on the ballot in each election for the city, the cost to the city was high for each vote cast.

The office of mayor, held by Jim Bingham, and the alderman seats in Wards 2, 3, and 4 will feature on the August ballot.

The aldermen currently serving those wards are Artie Allen, C.H. Harwell, and Jerry Gordon, respectively.

Chapel Hill residents will vote for mayor, currently Danny Bingham, and three alderman seats, occupied by Jan Darnell, Mike Faulkenberry, and Tommy Lawrence.

Half of the Marshall County School Board seats are also up for a vote.

School Districts 3, 5, 6, and 9, currently held by Kristen Gold, Julie Keny Cathey, John Daniel Allen, and Donnie Moses, respectively,

Voters will choose a permanent replacement for the Circuit Court bench to replace the retired Lee Russell.

Gov. Bill Haslam appointed Shelbyville attorney Wyatt Burk to fill the vacancy, but he will have to run to retain the seat.

Four alderman seats in Petersburg will also be open.

State-wide races headline the November ballot, after the primaries for those races in August.

The only local elections on the November ballot are three seats on the Cornersville Board of Mayor and Aldermen, currently held by Doris Arthur, Mary Johnson, and Sheryl McClintock.

In November, voters will choose a governor to replace the term-limited Bill Haslam and a U.S. Senator to replace Bob Corker, who has chosen not to run for re-election.

U.S. Representative Scott Desjarlais and State Representative Rick Tillis will face re-election.

The special election to fill Jim Tracy’s seat in the State Senate will conclude on March 13, with the winner of the Republican nomination, Shane Reeves, facing off with Democratic challenger Gayle Jordan.