Tigerette tennis shines as Hooten wins district singles title

Wednesday, May 2, 2018
The Marshall County High School Tennis Team, front row from left are Macey Pickle, Alexa Hooten, and McKenna Hunter. Second row from left are, coach Tammy Shrivalle, Anna Claire Moses, Annie Haynes, Bella Tepedino, Jayla Fitzgerald, Lily Smith, Reese Michael, and coach Vanessa Sweeney. Third row fro, left are coach Robert Ward, Sean Kennedy, Caleb Estes, Dawson Hammons, Jackson Ackels, and Jon Estes.
Photos submitted

The District 8-AAA Tennis Tournament was held this past weekend at The University of the South’s Bruton-Guerry Tennis Center. Two rounds were played on Friday, and the semifinals and finals were held on Saturday. Remarkably, the Marshall County Girls’ Tennis Team advanced seven girls into the semifinals on Saturday.

After triumphing over 16 other players between them, Marshall County Junior Alexa Hooten and sophomore teammate McKenna Hunter met for the girls’ singles championship where Hooten prevailed 6-4, 6-0.

With the district title and runner-up in hand, Hooten and Hunter advanced to the regionals.

Marshall County junior Alexa Hooten defeated teammate McKenna Hunter to win the District 8-AAA title at The University of the South.

Senior Annie Haynes and junior Anna Claire Moses advanced to the finals of Girls’ Doubles after defeating Marshall County’s surprising team of freshmen, Lily Smith and Reese Michael in three sets in the semifinals. Haynes and Moses lost in the finals to a pair from Lincoln County 6-2, 6-2, but also advanced to regionals.

Freshman Bella Tepedino was runnerup in the Girls’ JV Singles, losing to Lincoln County.

On Monday 30, the MCHS Girls defeated Lincoln County in the District 8 semifinal by a score of 4-3. Annie Haynes, Anna Claire Moses, Reese Michael, and Haynes and Moses in doubles providing the wins.

Girls advancing to region tournament from left are, Annie Haynes, Alexa Hooten, McKenna Hunter, and Anna Claire Moses.

MCHS plays at Tullahoma for the District 8-AAA Championship on Thursday at 4 p.m.

MCHS posted an 11-3 regular season record.

All-District Girls’ Team: Alexa Hooten, McKenna Hunter, Annie Haynes, Anna Claire Moses, Lily Smith, and Reese Michael.

Boys’ All District: Sean Kennedy

All-JV Team: Bella Tepedino