Marshall County NAACP holds 50th Freedom Fund Banquet

Thursday, June 14, 2018
Mr. James Wade accepts the George W. Turner Award from Vice President Gary Davis on behalf of Debra Wade.

The Banquet began with a warm welcome from Alfred Williams, who asked Vice President Gary Davis to come and gave the purpose of the NAACP. Our Master of Ceremonies was Deacon Deon O’Neal and he did a fantastic job. Deacon O’Neal asked the Pastor of Ransom Chapel, Robert Jefferson, to come and offer our prayer. Next Deacon O’Neal recognized our local members, and a moment of silence for the deceased members, and next a delicious buffet style meal was served by Cecelia McLean, “Your Wedding Your Way”.

As everyone was eating, soft music was played by Quinton Armstrong. After everyone had finished eating, Secretary Rochelle Alexander and Alfred Williams gave out the scholarship certificates to this year’s qualifying seniors. The 2018 Scholarship recipients were, Andrew Agnew, Jade Anderson, and Christoph Braden all from Marshall County High School; Ashley Mendoza, from Forrest High School, and Bethany Carlton, from Cornersville High School. Each recipient received a scholarship of $500 to go toward their education.

President Ann Tears and Vice President Gary Davis made the presentation of the special awards. The George W. Turner Award went to Mrs. Debra Wade for her work in the Marshall County School system, due to her absence, the award was accepted by her husband, James Wade. The Civic Award was presented to Mrs. Helen Pigg, for her work in the community. Last, but certainly not least, was the President’s Award, which was given to Mrs Edna London, for her work in the community.

Helen Pigg received the Civic Award.

TN. State Conference of Branches Vice President Elder Jimmie Garland came forth to introduce our dynamic speaker, TN. State Conference President Mrs. Gloria J. Sweet-Love, Her message was, “Moving from good to great”, how we need to continue to move on to greatness as she named many of those members and officers who have gone on before us.

Our M.C. then called on County Commissioner and branch Treasurer, R.L. Williams, to come and recognize our special guests. Some of our special guests for the evening were City Mayor Jim Bingham and wife, County Mayor Joe Boyd Liggett and wife, State Representative Rick Tillis, along with other city and county officials who are running for different offices in the county.

The last event for the night was the giving away of many door prizes. Special thanks goes out to State Representative Rick Tillis, Julie Johnson and members for many of our door prizes, also All-Star Trophies for the wonderful plaques, As the events of the evening came to a close, benediction and pray was given by Vice President Davis.

2018 Scholarship recipients. Left to right are, Ashley Mendoza, Jade Anderson, Bethany Carlton, Andrew Agnew and Christoph Braden.

The Marshall County NAACP would like to say thank you to our gifted Asst. Secretary Diane Henry for the wonderful job that she did on the booklets, Telisha Acklin for our covers. Also, a special thanks to every business and individual that bought a ticket, or made a donation to share in our 50th Anniversary celebration of the evening. Also a special thank you to Cecelia McLean and Kirk McLean for the wonderful meal and the beautiful decorations. We look forward to next year’s Annual Freedom Fund Banquet.

President, Tennessee State Conference of NAACP Branches, Gloria J. Sweet-Love.