Let the night roar!

Friday, July 20, 2018
Chuck Knapp of Charles City, Iowa and his "Screamin' D" 8,000-lb. Unlimited Modified Tractor will be back at the 42nd Annual Lions Super Pull of the South to defend their title.
Tribune photo by Anthony S. Puca

The 42nd Annual Lions Super Pull of the South kicks off tonight at Lions Motorsports Park in Chapel Hill with the green flag flying shortly after the always entertaining opening ceremonies at 7 p.m.

Some of the proceeds from the event go to help the Lions Clubs’ many chosen charitable organizations, including A Soldier’s Child Foundation, the Tour de Cure Bicycle Race that benefits the American Diabetes Foundation, the Kidsight Outreach Program at the Monroe Carrell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt University, and many local donations to the Forrest athletic teams, the library, and the emergency responders of Marshall County.

NTPA.com is live-streaming the event with tickets costing $50 for a two-night reserved seat package or $25 reserved, $20 general admission adult, and $10 general admission child for Friday night’s first session and $30 reserved, $25 general admission adult, and $10 general admission child on Saturday night.

Tickets may be purchased from the event's website (www.LionsSuperPull.com) or at gate.

No coolers will be allowed into the event.

The classes remain the same as last year with the 2,050-lb. Open Modified Mini Tractors, 8,000-lb. Unlimited Modified Tractors, 8,000-lb. Super Stock Diesel Tractors, 10,000-lb. Pro Stock Tractors, and the 6,200-lb. Modified Four-Wheel-Drive Trucks.

Class winners from the 2017 Lions Super Pull of the South were Bertus Boer of Ysselmuiden, Netherlands ("Bobcat Jr." MINI), Grayson Shelton of New London, North Carolina ("Sawed-Off" MINI), Chuck Knapp of Charles City, Iowa ("Screamin' D" UNL), and Brad Benedict of Marion, Ohio ("Non-Cents All Screwed Up" UNL), Stan Blagrave of Ackerly, Texas ("Red Horse" SSD), Travis Schlabach of Marengo, Iowa ("Bone Twister" SSD), Kevin Schmucker of Louisville, Ohio ("Git-Er-Dun Deere" PS), Peyton Davis of Tappahannock, Virginia ("Young Gun" FWD), Paul Holman of Wauseon, Ohio ("4 Play" FWD).

Also expected to be on the starting line near the Norman Henson south gate are defending 2017 Grand National champions Knapp, Davis, Jody and Colin Ross of Waynesburg, Pennsylvania ("Triple Bypass" SSD), and Charles Pelletier of St. Armand, Quebec ("CP Dream II" PS).