Keny wins county mayor, Wiles new court clerk, Tillis defeats Spivey

Thursday, August 2, 2018

Mike Keny is the new Marshall County Mayor after winning 62.8 percent of the vote in the three man race to replace Joe Boyd Liggett.

Keny, a former Lewisburg pharmacist, received 4,058 votes compared to 1,447 for Chapel Hill Mayor Danny Bingham and 949 for Commissioner R.L. Williams.

Current Director of the Joint Economic and Community Development Board Mike Wiles defeated incumbent Circuit Court Clerk Courtney Boatright in one of the closest races of the evening by 25 votes, 3,226 to 3,201.

In the Republican primary for the 92nd District State House seat, incumbent Rick Tillis defeated challenger Billy Spivey, who held the seat prior to Tillis, 2,881 votes to 2,026 in Marshall County. Tillis carried the district overall by the same margin, 4,788 to 3,583.

Tillis will face Democratic challenger Scott Coffey in November.

Several incumbent county commissioners lost their seats in contested elections.

Current chair of the commission Mike Waggoner finished third in the District 1 race with 410 votes.

Craig Blackwell received 477 votes and incumbent Dean Delk finished with 428.

In commission races, the top two vote getters are elected to the county legislative body.

In District 4, incumbent Mickey King received 506 votes. Roger Murphree will replace retiring incumbent Jennifer Smith on the commission after receiving 302 votes.

Jeff Taylor received 283 votes and Kevin Smith received 114.

In District 6, Incumbent Sheldon Davis was returned with 287 votes. Cannon Allen finished second with 263 votes, with current commissioner Toby Adams receiving 228.

District 7 elected newcomer Keith Hollingsworth to the commission with 222 votes. Commissioner Seth Warf finished second with 174 and Danny Morgan, the other sitting commissioner in the district finishing third with 161 votes.

District 8 has two new commissioners, Vincent Cuevas with 330 votes and Jeff Poarch with 327.

Incumbent Patty Richmond Parsons finished third with 289 votes, and long-serving commissioner Phil Willis retired for the board this year.

Overall, voter turnout was down from the last county general election in 2014.

Just under 39 percent of registered voters cast ballots. The 6,720 votes cast were down from the approximately 7,300 cast in 2014.

Full vote totals for every race will be published in Wednesday's edition of the Tribune.