Pearson elected as next ARSL president

Friday, August 3, 2018

The Association for Rural & Small Libraries (ARSL) is pleased to announce that its membership has elected its new President, Vice-President/President Elect and new members for its Board of Directors.

Jennifer Pearson, director of the Marshall County Memorial Library, will serve as the associationís vice president/president elect for the coming year. Pearson will serve as ARSLís president next year after the term of Lisa Lewis, library services manager at Show Low Public Library in Arizona.

MCML serves approximately 35,000 residents of Marshall County, Tenn. from branches in Lewisburg and Chapel Hill.

ARSL is a national organization of over 1,000 members whose mission is to provide resources and support that empower those in small and rural libraries to deliver excellent service to their communities.

ARSL works to provide for continuing education opportunities for its members, serves as a source of current information about trends, issues and strategies for rural and small libraries, partners with other library and non-library groups and organizations serving rural and small communities, and advocates for rural and small libraries at the local, state and national levels.

The new members will be welcomed to the ARSL board at its annual conference in Springfield, IL in September. A complete list of board members and more information about ARSL can be found at