Keny wins county mayor race

Friday, August 10, 2018

After months of campaigning, Marshall County knows who will lead the county into the next four years.

Mike Keny is the new Marshall County mayor after winning 62.8 percent of the vote in the three-man race to replace Joe Boyd Liggett.

Keny, a former Lewisburg pharmacist, received 4,058 votes compared to 1,447 for Chapel Hill Mayor Danny Bingham and 949 for Commissioner R.L. Williams.

In the other contested county race, current Director of the Joint Economic and Community Development Board Mike Wiles defeated incumbent Circuit Court Clerk Courtney Boatright in one of the closest races of the evening by 25 votes, 3,226 to 3,201.

In the Republican primary for the 92nd District State House seat, incumbent Rick Tillis defeated challenger Billy Spivey, who held the seat prior to Tillis, 2,881 votes to 2,026 in Marshall County. Tillis carried the district overall by the same margin, 4,788 to 3,583.

Tillis will face Democratic challenger Scott Coffey from Marion County in November.

Several incumbent county commissioners lost their seats in contested elections.

Current chair of the commission Mike Waggoner finished third in the District 1 race with 410 votes.

Challenger Craig Blackwell received 477 votes and incumbent Dean Delk finished with 428.

In commission races, the top two vote getters are elected to the county legislative body.

In District 4, incumbent Mickey King received 506 votes. Roger Murphree will replace retiring incumbent Jennifer Smith on the commission after receiving 302 votes.

Jeff Taylor received 283 votes and Kevin Smith received 114.

In District 6, incumbent Sheldon Davis was returned with 287 votes. Cannon Allen finished second with 263 votes, with current commissioner Toby Adams receiving 228.

District 7 elected newcomer Keith Hollingsworth to the commission with 222 votes. Commissioner Seth Warf finished second with 174 and Danny Morgan, the other sitting commissioner in the district finishing third with 161 votes.

District 8 has two new commissioners, Vincent Cuevas with 330 votes and Jeff Poarch with 327.

Incumbent Patty Richmond Parsons finished third with 289 votes, and long-serving commissioner Phil Willis retired from the board this year.

Commissioners running unopposed for re-election included E.W. Hill and Joseph Warner in District 2 with 479 and 447 votes, respectively.

Wesley Neece and Tony Beyer received 628 and 477 votes in District 5, and in District 9, Bob Hopkins and Glen White returned to their seats with 599 and 506 courtesy votes.

Anna Childress retained her seat in District 3. Tony Nichols will replace Commissioner R.L. Williams, who ran instead for county mayor, in the Belfast area district, despite a spirited write-in campaign by Wayne Glenn, who received 74 votes.

Trustee Scottie Poarch, Sheriff Billy Lamb, County Clerk Daphne Fagan-Girts, Register of Deeds Dorris Wayne Weaver, and Superintendent of Roads Jerry Williams were all unopposed for re-election.

Also without contested races were four seats on the Marshall County Board of Education.

Kristen Gold in District 3, Julie Keny Cathey in District 5, and John Daniel Allen in District 6 were all retained in their current seats.

Heidi McElhaney ran unopposed for the District 9 seat previously held by Donnie Moses, who chose not to run for re-election.

Lewisburg voters returned familiar faces in all three contested council elections with all three incumbents retaining their seats.

Artie Allen in Ward 2 defeated challengers Ronnie Joe Hudson and John Christmas decisively, winning 400 votes to Hudsonís 146 and Christmasí 157.

Ward 3 incumbent C.H. Harwell, who was appointed to the board when Bam Haislip moved out of the district, defeated challenger Rick Ackley, 77 votes to 51.

Jerry Gordon remained as Ward 4 councilman with 285 votes, to Frank Luna IIIís 112 votes and write-in candidate Ricky Lynn Weaverís 25.

Former Ward 3 Councilman Haislip received 255 courtesy votes while running unopposed to fill the unexpired term of Councilman Steve Thomas in Ward 1. Thomas stepped down from the council after accepting a ministry position with a church in Nashville.

Lewisburg Mayor Jim Bingham, also running unopposed, received 1,630 courtesy votes.

Chapel Hill voters did not have as many choices to make in their municipal races.

Jackie King ran unopposed for the mayorís office, vacated by Danny Bingham as he ran for county mayor.

King received 296 votes.

Mike Faulkenberry and Tommy Lawrence were re-elected to their seats on the board of aldermen, with XX and XX courtesy votes.

With three seats open, the only official write-in candidate, Brian Williams, secured the final seat on the board with XX verified votes as of press time.

Overall, voter turnout was down from the last county general election in 2014.

Just under 39 percent of registered voters cast ballots. The 6,720 votes cast were down from the 7,321 cast in 2014.

The newly elected candidates officially take office on Sept 4, with a swearing in ceremony scheduled for Aug. 30.

The general election, to choose federal and state office holders, will be held on Nov. 6.

Three seats on the Cornersville Board of Aldermen will also be decided that day as well.