Strong Early Voting Turnout

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Mirroring reports from across the state, voter turnout in Marshall County during the early voting period is higher than past elections.

As of 11 a.m. on Thursday, 3,562 early votes had been cast, with a week remaining in early voting, according to Andrew Robertson, county election administrator.

In the August primary election, 3,736 voters went to the polls during the early period.

Robertson said that this year’s total had already passed the total for the last two mid-term general elections.

The early voting period for the Nov. 6 general election closes on Thursday, Nov. 1.

Residents wishing to vote early can still do so at the election office in the Hardison Annex at 230 College St. in Lewisburg.

The office will have special hours on Saturday from 8 a.m. until noon and will be open Friday, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Thursday the office will be open until 6 p.m. for voting.

On the ballot are races between Bill Lee and Karl Dean for governor, Phil Bredesen and Marsha Blackburn for U.S. Senate, Scott DesJarlais and Mariah Phillips for U.S. House, and Rick Tillis and Scott Coffey for Tennessee House.

Four of the five Cornersville Board of Aldermen seats are also on the ballot.

Incumbents Doris Arthur, Mary Johnson, and Sheryl McClintock are all running unopposed to retain their seats.

Brenda Hasting is running unopposed for the final two tears of the seat to which she was appointed last year.